Author Spotlight: Clare London

31 01 2008

Masquerade by Author Clare London

Today we start my author spotlights. To kick it off we have Clare London in the hot seat. 🙂

Author Bio and links:

Clare took the pen name London from the city where she lives, loves and writes. She juggles fiction with a frantic family life and waits for the far distant day when she can afford to give up her day job as an accountant. She’s written in many genres and across many settings, with short stories published both online and in print anthologies. Most of her work features male/male romance and drama, with a healthy serving of erotica, as she enjoys both reading and writing about strong, sympathetic and sexy characters. Clare currently has a fantasy novel in the process of publication, two more nearing the submission stage and plenty of other projects in mind . . . she just has to find out where she left them in amongst the frantic family life. Clare’s website : www.darkpearldiva.comClare’s blog : http://claredivatoo.livejournal.com/Find Clare London at MySpace and Authors Den, too!

****

Tell us about your latest book and what you think readers will get out of it.

 Masquerade was published in December 2007 and is an anthology of 4 erotic, enthralling tales in the male/male paranormal genre.  It has a combination of drama, mystery, obsessive love, angst and humor.  I’m hoping that will suit everyone and anyone’s palate!  Each tale is set in a different place, some in a fantasy world, some in our own world but in a different time.  I’d love to hear what people think of it!  Reviews to date have been very complimentary.You can find it at Eternal Press www.eternalpress.com.au. 

Can you describe your characters to us? Do you pattern them after anyone you know or is it pure imagination?

 Pure imagination, I assure you! Though I confess that I’ve always got my eyes and ears open for scenes and conversations in ordinary life that might inspire fiction.  I like to write – and read – strong, sexy, sensual characters, but ones who sometimes struggle with communicating and coping with their feelings.  Just like us all, really!  I love dialogue – I love the interaction between two different men, two different ‘voices’, and that’s what usually leads the characterization.

 

What genre have you not done but want to in the future?

Oh I’m still dreaming of having the talent and tenacity to write a proper crime novel – not just having a crime or mystery as a sub-plot!  I love to read them so much, but when I write, I get distracted by the characters, rather than the strict plot…LOL  

Tell us about your most erotic romantic fantasy. If you could have a 24-hour romantic fling with anyone you want, where would you go, what would you do and with whom would you do it with? 

 *sigh* My romantic fantasy would be something deliciously passive because I’m always so exhausted running around with life!  I’d love to have a small group of handsome young men attending to my every whim… and if they wanted to spend any of their spare time playing with each other in front of me, I’m sure I wouldn’t mind LOLAnyone in particular? Sorry if it disappoints, but a real romantic fling would have to be with my husband, who’s still my romantic fling extraordinaire.  It’d just be good to have some uninterrupted, non-stressful time together, so if anyone can send me the tickets for a week at the cocktail bar on a Caribbean island…

 If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

I’d like to be able to teleport anywhere, any time.  It’s the only way I’d stand a chance of doing all the things I want to do, seeing all the places there are to be seen, and catching up with all the friends I’d like to see more of! 

If you could visit any place any time, what would it be and why? 

I’d love to be in Elizabethan England, in London, though preferably in the court rather than in the slums LOL.  There are so many things from the history books that I’d like to know the truth about.  And the intrigue and customs of court life have always fascinated me. 

 What’s more fun to write about: Bad boys or perfect gentlemen and why?

 Well, writing male/male means that I get he chance to do both, doesn’t it? LOL But on balance, I prefer the bad boys – as a writer (and a reader, I hope) there’s so much more to explore about them, they’re more complex, more tortured, more uninhibited.

 

Do you watch reality tv? If so, what is your guilty pleasure? if not, what do you prefer to watch? 

 No, I’m not keen on reality TV, personally, though I did get drawn into some of the Strictly Come Dancing programs we had here in the UK.  I’d rather the programming money was spent on good, new drama  – but that’s just my opinion.  My real guilty pleasure is choosing just one program a week when I abandon writing and steal the TV remote from the rest of the family, and nothing get in my way.  It was Heroes until recently – now it’s Torchwood. 

VIN Diesel or Gerard Butler?

 Gerard Butler.  I am a HUGE fan of the movie 300 LOL 

Where can readers reach you?

 And I so love them to reach me!!! ^__^ I always reply, with grateful delight.Email me at clarelondon11@yahoo.co.uk (or hotmail.com)And from my website www.darkpearldiva.comAnd as Clare London on MySpace.  Friend me! 

Where are you published?

 I’m at Eternal Press (www.eternalpress.com.au) for Masquerade, and at Dreamspinner Press (www.dreamspinnerpress.com) for some short stories, plus a forthcoming novel The Gold Warrior. Thanks for stopping in and I hope you enjoy yourself. J 

Actions

Information

18 responses

31 01 2008
annette

Great interview. I’m not an erotic reader, but this title sounds interesting.

31 01 2008
Clare London

Thanks Annette! I appreciate your interest, especially if my fiction isn’t a genre that you’d normally read. It’s great to chat to you as a fellow reader, anyway!
Clare 🙂

31 01 2008
Jania

Hi, Clare

I’d like to hear more about the supernatural elements in your stories. I am a great fan of ghost and horror stories and as such I was intrigued to hear that it’s an element in your book.

What is your own relationship with the paranormal in the world of books? Is it a spice or a passion? How great a role does it play in your fiction? Do you enjoy reading it yourself?

You’re an awesome writer. Loads and loads of succes with you latest book!

31 01 2008
Tabitha Shay

Hi Clare,
Great interview and I love your book cover. I also happen to know you’re a wonderful author and I love your writing. Keep up the good work. Tabitha Shay

31 01 2008
ASIA

You sound very down-to-earth… I like that in authors. Keep up with the great work!

31 01 2008
Clare London

Hi Jania, thanks for the great questions! These are long short stories, so I wanted an immediately vivid, exciting atmosphere to them. There’s not always a happy ever after, but there’s love and obsession and strange forces at work! One is set in a fantasy world where a young man has the power to make thoughts and wishes come true… but that doesn’t always bring peace. One has a vampiric twist to it – another is set in 19th century England with apparently normal people, but a mill owner’s love for one of his workers brings about a strange, shocking discovery! And then there’s a dash of humor to set off against that, a short story about 2 squires lusting after each other – and their Prince – but being thwarted in the sexiest of ways! 🙂

I love a slice of melodrama, in both writing and reading, and although I like writing contemporary fiction as well, these ‘windows’ into other worlds were very exciting to write. I think I’ll be writing more one day!
Clare 🙂

31 01 2008
Clare London

Tabitha, thanks for dropping in, it’s always a treat to chat to my fellow authors *hehe*
This is me, trying my newbie hand at blogging, and hopefully welcoming new friends!
^___^
Clare 🙂

31 01 2008
Jeanne Barrack

Ah, I see Clare and I share a wish to be able to teleport! ;~)
Lovely interview.
Got the titles on my TBR pile!

31 01 2008
Clare London

Asia, thanks for the compliment! I think I need to keep my feet on the ground, even after the excitement of writing and being published and doing all these new exciting things like blogging *lol*
And I know you’re a wonderful artist – but also a very sensible, lovely woman.
We just have to do a lot of juggling, don’t we?!
Clare 🙂

31 01 2008
Clare London

Hi Jeanne, just think what fun we’d have teleporting around the world! I can only hope my navigation skills are better than they are for my driving, though, or *you’ll* have to hold the map… LOL
Thanks for thinking of me for your TBR pile – I’d love to hear your feedback!
Clare 🙂

31 01 2008
rainedelight

Hi Clare,

I hope you enjoyed being in the spotlight today! 🙂 I love Masqurade’s cover. Who was the cover boy? *smiles Wickedly*

Raine

31 01 2008
Megan Rose

Great interview ladies. It’s lovely that your hubby is your romantic fantasy Clare. And you never know…maybe one day you’ll be able to enjoy your holiday on a Carribean isle.

31 01 2008
Clare London

Raine, thanks so much for inviting me – it’s a lovely site and I had a fun time!!

Now I need to spend my evening searching for that delicious boy’s phone number *lol*. I often wonder what’d happen if the real model saw the cover, whether he’d be pleased or not *LOL*

Thanks everyone who called in, and thanks to Raine again, I’ll catch up with you and the blog again soon!!
Clare 🙂

31 01 2008
Clare London

Hi Megan! I’m working on that cruise *lol*, but don’t hold your breath! Thanks for dropping in, I had fun, and I’m looking forward to being on your Unlocked Passions Group too, soon, where you very kindly invited me! And good luck with all your great new titles in 2008…

Thanks again Raine!
🙂

1 02 2008
Ally

I’d love to have a small group of handsome young men attending to my every whim… and if they wanted to spend any of their spare time playing with each other in front of me.

Good Heavens…

Can I watch too?
Please, please, pretty please… with me on top!

Great interview.
Ally

1 02 2008
Rita Karnopp

Clare… as always you are delightful … and full of surprises. I enjoyed getting to you even better! hugs, Rita Karnopp

1 02 2008
Clare London

Ally, what mischievous women we are *lol*. At this rate, I’ll have to sell tickets…
I’ll save you a grandstand seat ! ^__^
Thanks for dropping in, maybe this has given me some ideas for future fiction!
Clare 🙂

1 02 2008
Clare London

Rita, how lovely to see another great author dropping in! *hugs*
Always worries me, when people say they now know me better – makes me wonder what secrets I’ve given away! LOL
But anything to share with my friends… ^_~

Have a great weekend
Clare 🙂

Leave a Reply

