In the Spotlight: Jeanne Barrack

7 02 2008

The Shimmering Flame by Jeanne Barrock

My love of fantasy began at the tender age of ten when, stuck in the house because of a blizzard, I ran out of stuff to read! Oh, the horror! Frantic, I got my hands on my older brother’s collection of Ray Bradbury’s books. “Dandelion Wine”, hmmm, just perfect for a snowy day in New York. I was hooked.My love of romance novels started when I read the galley proofs for a steamy Rosemary Rogers novel. For a brief delirious time, my hubby and I owned a children’s book store in Minneapolis and at our first American Booksellers convention we gobbled up any freebies we got, including stuff we’d never sell, like Rogers’ book. What a sexy thrill it was – warts and all! It was the beginning of a love affair that has never ended.
My first story was published by Loose Id in December 2004 and I’ve never stopped writing since then!
****************

Tell us about your latest book and what you think readers will get out of it.

 My latest book is The Shimmering Flame. It’s set in Liquid Silver Books’ Terran Realm world. Brigid Kawsantower and her husband Gabe travel to Ireland where she learns her true identity and the role she must play in saving the world from Nimhnach, an ancient madman. There, she also meets Ethan Clark, an Irish archeologist who was her lover at one time in the far distant past. All three of them must join forces to prevent Nimhnach’s plans from succeeding. All of the main characters in the story are members of the Terran race. How they use their special abilities is the major thrust of the story.   

Can you describe your characters to us? Do you pattern them after anyone you know or is it pure imagination?

 I knew right off the bat that Brigid had to be a mix of innocence and sensuality. Of athletic ability and intelligence. She had to be able to adapt quickly to situations and be open to the realm of the unlikely. Brigid came straight from my imagination as far as personality. I often have actors or performers in mind when I visualize characters; in her case I searched through thousands of online photos before I found just the right face. I don’t know the model’s name, but she fit the bill! Blonde, blue-eyed with an angelic aura, but a hint of sexiness. And that touch of sexiness comes out in some pretty vivid fantasies!

Gabe – Oh, man, Gabe! Strong- physically and mentally – caring, giving and sexy as hell! He’s a Terran Protector – this means he’s physically stronger than most humans. This has impacted on his relationship with Brigid because he’d really like to engage in some BDSM but he’s so afraid he’ll lose control and really hurt her – far beyond the safety limits – that he’s kept some of his passion in check until – well, read the book and find out! I thought of several actors  – Dominic Purcell from “Prison Break” and “John Doe”; the fellow from “Heroes” who played the bad guy, Sylar (yeah, that touch of bad guy <g>) I was looking for someone who combined a dangerous edge with intelligence.

Ethan – Forget Colin Farrell, forget Pierce Brosnan Ireland has a new sex symbol! Ethan is the embodiment of every Irishman I ever met! Especially his music ability. Oh, the darlin’ man. I grew up singing Irish music and hobnobbing with every Irishmen (it seemed<G>) in the five boroughs of New York City. Colin Farrell’s accent grates on my ears. Now Pierce’s is softer since he’s from the south of Ireland, but for soft beautiful accents there’s none can compare to the voice of one of Ireland’s classic folk singers – Liam Clancy. Tipperary born and with the soft lilt of the south. Every time Ethan speaks and sings in The Shimmering Flame I’d hear that voice in my head. He’s probably the closest to being patterned after someone I actually know. 

What genre have you not done but want to in the future?

I’d like to write something in romantic suspense.   

Tell us about your most erotic romantic fantasy. If you could have a 24-hour romantic fling with anyone you wanted, anywhere you wanted, where would you go, what would you do and with whom would you do it?

That’s actually easy. Hands down – Antonio Banderas. We’d go to Spain, to Barcelona, find a small, intimate hotel room, lock the door and spend the twenty- four hours in bed, making love, eating, singing together (oddly enough, my most erotic fantasy scenarios always includes music) making love in the shower, then back in the bed. For myself, I like a twosome – my characters, well, that’s another story! <G>

 If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?
The ability to snap my fingers and be anywhere in the world I wanted to be –

teleportation

 

If you could visit any time and place, where would it be and why?

Tough question – I love to write about foreign places and I love history. I’ve written stories set in Ireland – past and present – and Italy – past and present. I’d love to go to Israel and Spain. Hmmm. Oh, heck, I give up! I’d want a time/teleportation machine to whisk me anywhere I wanted any time I wanted. So, there! LOL

 

Who’s more fun to write about, bad boys or perfect gentlemen and why?

I like gentlemen who turn into bad boys when the right person(s) turns them on!  

Do you watch Reality TV? If so, what is one of your guilty pleasures? If not, then what do  you prefer to watch?

All the cooking reality shows; the dancing shows; Project Runway (!) And latest one – Make Me A Super Model – The last episode of that one had them paired with each other and one m/m and one f/f pairing! For photo shoots. Let me tell you, that episode was so hot!

 

VIN Diesel or Gerard Butler?

If forced to pick – Gerard Butler – only if he speaks with his normal accent!

Where can readers reach you?

 http://jeannebarrack.com

email silverfire@jeannebarrack.com

Where are you published?

Loose Id; Aspen Mountain Press and Liquid Silver Books

Thanks for stopping in and I hope you enjoy yourself. J 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 02 2008
Jeanne Barrack

Thanks so much for interviewing me, Raine…It was fun sharing some of my wicked secrets!

7 02 2008
rainedelight

Sorry about the mispelling of last name. All fixed. 🙂

Thanks for being spotlighted. *smiles* Love the cover though!!!

I can’t wait to check th is series out.

Raine

Leave a Reply

