In The Spotlight: Kaenar Langford

14 02 2008

Absolute Trust by Kaenar Langford

I must admit that I had a pretty normal childhood. I was born in a little village on the coast of Ireland and came to Canada as a small child. Maybe that’s not as normal as I think! I’ve always been a voracious reader. My friends and I devoured all the ‘Nancy Drew’ books and I always had a book that I was reading. I can remember the very first romance novel that I ever read. I can even picture the small-town drugstore where I bought it. The book was ‘The Wolf and the Dove’ by Kathleen Woodiwiss and even though I wasn’t that young, I’d never read anything like it. It was lusty. It was sexy. It was naughty and I was hooked.

As the years went by I began to move through the genres of romance until one day I read a short story by Shannon McKenna then a novel by Robin Schone and then Angela Knight’s book Mercenaries. Now we’re moving to a whole other end of the spectrum and it’s addictive.So how does a teacher from Ontario, Canada end up going from being a reader to writing erotic romance for Ellora’s Cave?

 In October of 2005 I went to a seminar on ‘How To Write a Romance Novel’ and twenty minutes before the end of the workshop, the presenter gave us five minutes to write an introductory paragraph to a romance novel. My mind was a blank but I just shut out all the noise and wrote the first thing that came into my head. It was well received when I read it aloud to the group so I came home and put it down on the computer so it wouldn’t be lost.It’s addictive, the writing. Sometimes I find it hard to do other things as I want to be at my machine cranking out more stories all the time. My friends and family are ecstatic about my success and are always asking about the books and what I’m working on. Sometimes when I tell them that it’s a futuristic, ménage à trois or something like that, they wonder if they really should have asked.

As long as the ideas keep filling my head, I’ll keep putting them to paper or the computer.Check out my website at www.kaenar.com

**************************************

Tell us about your latest book and what you think readers will get out of it.      

       My third book, Absolute Trust, which is due out soon is a ménage à trois. Taking place in the future, it’s about a group of bounty hunters from a starcruiser called the Renegade. In Jude’s Choice, the book before it, the bounty hunters come up against, and outwit, a very nasty villain called Brachan, leader of the Redelians.        

     People really enjoyed the story line of Jude’s Choice and wanted more stories about the bounty hunters of the Renegade. In Absolute Trust, Micah O’Brian, another of the hunters is sent out to protect a prince from the evil Brachan. He’s tailed by Layla, a young hunter he works with, who has followed him with seduction in mind. But what happens when he meets Prince Denyan and is also drawn to the beautiful young prince? 

            Unfortunately the Redelians find the prince. Micah takes him to safety, but they must leave Layla behind to battle the Redelians alone. Will she survive to return to her lovers? You’ll have to read the book to find out.      

      These books form part of a series to be titled ‘Prime Prey’ and each book will feature a bounty hunter who must protect the siblings of Prince Denyan. 

Can you describe your characters to us? Do you pattern them after anyone you know or is it pure imagination?       

                 They are strictly from my imagination, but they have qualities which I think appeal to readers. The woman are strong and feisty, well able to hold their own in any situation but they’re still women, with a woman’s softness and allure. I love the alpha male, but I also like the woman to give them a run for their money. Humour is important in the interplay between my characters and trust. 

What genre have you not done but want to in the future?     

        I’d love to do something with a hero from one of the Irish legends. There are already so many great shapeshifter books out there and vampire ones that are amazing so I’d love to use a hero or type of hero who hasn’t been done yet. There are some amazing ones in the Irish legends that just cry out for an erotic romance to be written about them.

  Tell us about your most erotic romantic fantasy. If you could have a 24-hour romantic fling with anyone you wanted, anywhere you wanted, where would you go, what would you do and with whom would you do it? 

            I love Spain. My erotic fantasy would be to spend 24 hours in Madrid with an incredibly handsome Spaniard. We’d visit museums during the day and then head out to sample the night life of the city after dark. A romantic dinner, a walk down one of the crowded streets, a night in a fancy hotel making love. That’s what I’d like.

 If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

            To type at super-human speed so I could write stuff down as quickly as it comes into my head.

 VIN Diesel or Gerard Butler? 

Gerard Butler

  If you could visit any time and place, where and when would it be and why?        

    I’d love to be in England in the early 1800’s to see if the men look as good in their tight breeches and knee-high boots as the writers always portray them. Love those historical romances! 

Who’s more fun to write about, bad boys or perfect gentlemen and why?

             Bad boys for sure. They just appeal to me.  

Do you watch reality TV? If so, what is one of your guilty pleasures? If not, then what do you prefer to watch?

             I hate reality TV. I like to watch Women’s Murder Club and I’ll often sit and watch Chuck or Reaper with my younger son. There’s a new show out called Murdoch Mysteries which is a detective show set in Victorian Toronto and I really enjoy watching it. It’s like a slice of history. 

Where can readers reach you? 

First, they can check out an article I wrote about my trip to Spa Excess, the largest gay spa in Toronto, by going to Lady Jaided, the e-magazine of Ellora’s Cave. The piece appears this month at http://www.ladyjaided.com then they can visit my site and enter this month’s contest. The prizes were generously provided by the guys at Spa Excess. Check me out at www.kaenar.com

  Where are you published?

 My books are available at Ellora’s Cave

www.ellorascave.com

 Thanks for stopping in and I hope you enjoy yourself. J 

Thanks so much for having me come by Raine. It’s been fun. 

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 02 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for coming Kaenar and being int he spotlight. I love the cover and look forward to reading this series. 🙂

Raine

14 02 2008
Jeanne Barrack

Looking forward to reading a story about those naughty Irish heroes one day!

Leave a Reply

