In the Spotlight: Carol McPhee

19 02 2008

Something about the lady by Carol McPhee

An avid reader of romance novels ten years ago, I wondered why I could never find stories making use of the rugged beauty of Nova Scotia. I set out to create such a story, and then to get it out of my head, I began to write it down. After joining Romance Writers of America and helping form a chapter of the organization in Halifax, I was able to learn more about the techniques of presentation. My stories are the result of that first effort and speak of the invaluable help I received from husband, Karl, who taught me to use the computer and is my biggest fan. Workshops, other published authors, and most of all, my online critique groups have enabled me to bring my imagination to life in my quest to entertain readers. I still often write about Nova Scotia–None So Blind, Undercover Trouble and Means To An End, but I’ve widened my scope with settings in the Canadian Rockies, Alaska, and Maine. Please check out my published works on my website at: http://www.geocities.com/carolmcphee2003

*****

Tell us about your latest book and what you think readers will get out of it.

My latest book is Something About That Lady, published by Champagne Books in February 2008. 

Can you describe your characters to us? Do you pattern them after anyone you know or is it pure imagination?

The characters in most of my stories are straight from my imagination. I prefer strong, smart, sensuous heroines who are searching for happiness. Matched against alpha males conflict is sure to erupt, making the resolution the essence of an intriguing read. I may pattern the hero after someone I’m aware of which makes him more real, but the heroines develop as I go along.

  

What genre have you not done but want to in the future?

I’ve dabbed in history but would like to make a greater attempt at it. Of course it would ultimately work itself into a romance.  

Tell us about your most erotic romantic fantasy. If you could have a 24-hour romantic fling with anyone you wanted, anywhere you wanted, where would you go, what would you do and with whom would you do it?

Hmm. Hope my husband isn’t going to read this; he may have some objections. Let’s see: hands down it would be a fantasy involving Pierce Brosnan. We would go to an island off the coast of Nova Scotia and do whatever was done in my contemporary romance coming out in April from Champagne Books…A Spirited Affair.

If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

To be able to eat as much chocolate as I want and not gain weight.

If you could visit any time and place, where and when would it be and why?

I would visit the south coast of Nova Scotia back in the 1700s to get fodder for an historical romance. 

Who’s more fun to write about, bad boys or perfect gentlemen and why?

Bad boys don’t interest me. Arrogant guys who need to be brought down a peg by a sassy heroine are my interest. 

Do you watch reality TV? If so, what is one of your guilty pleasures? If not, then what do you prefer to watch?

I only watch Grey’s Anatomy and the news.

 

Where can readers reach you?

They can reach me by signing and leaving their email address in my guestbook at http://www.geocities.com/carolmcphee2003  

Where are you published?

I am published with Wings ePress, Inc: www.wingsepress.com and with Champagne Books: www.champagnebooks.com  

 Thanks for stopping in and I hope you enjoy yourself. J

Thanks for allowing me on your blog. Carol

 

Actions

Information

One response

19 02 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for coming Carol. I look forward to reading this one and love the cover!

Raine

Leave a Reply

