In the Spotlight: Jim Woods

26 02 2008

Gunshot Echoes by Jim Woods

Jim Woods has published more than 400 articles in Outdoor Life, Popular Mechanics, Petersen’s Hunting, Guns & Ammo, Shooting Times, Guns, Southern Outdoors,Western Outdoors, Gun Digest, and other national periodicals; and has contributed to the hardbound anthologies, A Guide to Handmade Knives (Janus Press, 1977); Guns of the Gunfighters (Bonanza Books, 1982); and Hunting in Zimbabwe (Safari Press, 1992).

His current book release is GUNSHOT ECHOES, a collection consisting of “The Outlander,” an adventure novella set in South Africa, and five short mysteries. Most recently he published the co-authored collection of short fiction, OLLA PODRIDA (2006). His prior works include the set-in-Africa action-suspense novel, THE LION KILLER (2005); collected accounts of his world hunting adventures, HONK IF YOU LOVE GEESE and Other Hunting Stories (2004); a collection of short fiction, JOURNEYS, and a writing tutorial, TWO DOZEN LESSONS FROM AN EDITOR (2002).

He is a novelist and short-story author, and when not writing for himself, edits other authors’ novels and nonfiction book-length works under private arrangement (click here for editing services information). He is the anthologist and co-editor for, and contributor to, DUTY, HONOR and VALOR, (Society of Southwestern Authorspublisher, Wheatmark, 2006) and A WAY WITH MURDER, (Arizona Mystery Writerspublisher, Xlibris, 2004). He conducts writing-technique workshops for authors’ groups and writing conferences.

Jim Woods worked as Editor, Editorial Director and Managing Editor for (then) Petersen Publishing Company, Los Angeles ; and as field Editor with (then) Publishers Development Corporation, San Diego. He has worked as an engineering writer-editor in the aerospace/defense industry, and served, honorably, with the U.S. Navy, four years.

He is actively included in the Safari Club International (SCI) Professional Outdoor Writers Registry (POWR). His past professional associations include membership in Outdoor Writers Association of America (OWAA) and American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA).

He is listed in WHO’S WHO IN AMERICA 58th Edition, 2004.

****
Getting to know Jim Woods:
Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.
GUNSHOT ECHOES is a themed collection, the centerpiece of which is a short novel, “The Outlander,” that story set in South Africa, and deals with murder for hire. The novel is flanked by five short stories, all dealing with killing and murder (not the same thing) by firearms. I’m “gun qualified” having served in various staff editorial capacities with three firearms magazines, and have freelanced for many of the national magazines that cover the subjects of guns and hunting.
What do you like to do when you’re not working?
I read, of course, but I’m a recreational traveler. I’ve set foot in eighty countries on six continents and once was in spitting distance of Anarctica,. I credit the U.S. Navy for my wanderlust, it having shown me that oceans are gateways and not barriers.
What season is your favorite and why?
I’d have to say the fall. It’s the season of my birth and hunting season as well.
What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?
I have a one-thousand book library, and a fifth of those relate to Africa in some manner–novels and history. I Have a couple of leatherbound series, and I have all my own books custom leather-bound as my “keeper” copies. I also have a considerable firearms reference collection, as well a what I think to be an adequate assemblage of writing styleguides and books related to writing. Those I refer to for my commission editing services. One author whose work is prominent is Wilbur Smith who writes of Africa, as I do.
What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?
“A Deady Hand,” Avalon Books, by Carol Costa. And i did like it.
What makes a good book?
 It’s a mystery, and the author is a personal friend. I keep one shelf in my library for books by my personal friends; and it’s growing.
What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?
I was born in a grassy dtch by the side of an Arkansas backroad when my soon to be family was enoute to Kentucky on foot. I left home at age seventeen, on my high school graduation day and never looked back, I have hunted much of the world; been faced down by an enraged Cape buffalo that hunted me, I wrestled and killed, with a knife,  a 300-pound wild hog in Texas;   I was a gun-point prisoner of Cubans in Angola; and I once held two rogue bikers at bay, with my gun, until the sheriff arrived to our isolated home. The bikers ran to the Sheriff when the cruiser drove up.
What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?
I’ve had published some 400 articles in national magazines, and I’ve published six books, including novels short story collections and a writing tutorial.
Where are you published?
I have two books with The Mckenna Publishing Group, Palm Springs; three with publishAmerica, My cutrrent “Gunshot Echoes” with Champagne Books of calgary, canada, and two more book under contract with Champagne.
Thanks for coming! J

 

Actions

Information

One response

8 03 2008
populararticle » Blog Archive » suspense novelist woods

[…] In the Spotlight: Jim Woods Feb 26, 2008 […]

Leave a Reply

