In the Spotlight: Author Jesse Fox

28 02 2008

Dark Roast Press

Born in small town American (population 400) at the edge of the Ozark Mountains in Missouri, she grew up on the wrong side of the tracks. Dreams of being a comic artist consumed her from the age of twelve until graduating from high school. Unable to attend college for financial reasons she moved to St. Louis at eighteen where she’s held a number of jobs over the past 21 years. Some of those jobs include sales associate/design student at a floral studio, operations administrator of a ceramic tile company, baker, and assistant cook. Presently she is managing rental property, honing her writing skills, and dreaming of a long-lived career as a writer. Her debut novel Shadows Beneath will be released by Dark Roast Press a new e-publisher whose focus is GLBT erotica.  

Coming Soon – Dark Roast Press: http://darkroastpress.com

Dark Roast on MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/dark_roast_press

Live Journal: http://jesse-fox.livejournal.com/

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/jesse_fox2008 

*******

Getting to know Jesse Fox: 

Tell us about your latest book and what you think readers will get out of it. 

Well, my debut novel Shadows Beneath is an M/M erotica novel that’s set against a backdrop of the supernatural/paranormal.In Shadows Beneath the core idea when I wrote it was that even in the most extreme of circumstances true love can overcome, flourish, and survive. I’m hoping that core point comes through. 

Can you describe your characters to us? Do you pattern them after anyone you know or is it pure imagination? 

The three main characters are an interesting trio. Tristan Pryce is a guy who’s worked hard to get where he is and he comes into this job as an academic. He’s there in hopes of solidifying his future, but he’s definitely not a believer in the supernatural. Being the target of the paranormal shenanigans rattles his cage and on top of that he finds himself drawn to the last person he’d imagine.Jake Bauman the second of my trio is an interesting mix both academic and spiritual. Personality wise he’s a quiet loner, he’s used to being on the outside for a number of reasons. He’s a believer into paganism, magic, and the occult. Jake is oil to Tristan’s water, but you’ll slowly discover why Jake is the way he is.

Catherine Mullin is the final third of the trio and she’s one of those women that when they set their mind on getting something they’re like a bulldozer. She’s stubborn to a fault and wants Tristan. To make things even more difficult she’s Jake’s cousin. Together the three of them end up creating more drama than Hollywood could ever hope to create. LOLAs for whether I base characters on anyone that I’ve known well I’d have to say the characters are pure imagination in the end. Although I’ve know a few people over the years that emotionally resemble all three.   

What genre have you not done but want to in the future?

 I’ve written a great deal over the past ten years, but this is my first published work. I’m looking forward to playing in a number of sand boxes in the future, but one I’ve never really done is maybe something set in space or futuristic. I’m usually earth bound in my writings even if they have a paranormal flavor.  

Tell us about your most erotic romantic fantasy. If you could have a 24-hour romantic fling with anyone you wanted, anywhere you wanted, where would you go, what would you do and with whom would you do it?

Wow, that’s hard to say—only 24 hours. I live inside my head a great deal and really just love men of all sizes and shapes. If I had to narrow it down, I would say a secluded seaside cottage in Ireland with my most recent Hollywood crush. I’m a greedy little gal, a bit kinky as well, so my Hollywood crush is actually a duo—Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki from Supernatural. Now–what would the three of us do? What wouldn’t we do? *winks*

 

 If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?     

The ability to control the weather I loved Storm in the X-Men when I was growing up.  

If you could visit any time and place, where  and when would it be and why?

 

Ancient Greece definitely I’ve always been fascinated with that world especially at its peak; the art, the philosophy, and the literature. I know they were far from perfect, but I have to wonder if our culture will be remembered like they were thousands of years from now.  

Who’s more fun to write about, bad boys or perfect gentlemen and why?

 Oh, the bad boys are definitely the most fun. I’ve always thought that because for me writing is cathartic and the bad boys are a way for me to release all those naughty impulses I have that I’d never do in reality.  

Do you watch reality TV? If so, what is one of your guilty pleasures? If not, then what do you prefer to watch?

        Only if I’m bored out of my mind, I despise reality TV because seriously the term ‘Reality TV’ is an oxy-moron. Television is a way to escape from reality for me.  My guilty pleasure The Ghost Whisperer my friends tease me about it constantly. I like a variety of genres, but right now my two favorite, cannot miss shows, are the WB’s Supernatural and Fox’s Bones.

  VIN Diesel or Gerard Butler?

 Gerard Butler hands down! He’s incredibly hot in the 300. 

Where can readers reach you? 

Readers can reach me via e-mail at jesse_fox2008@peoplepc.com 

Where are you published? 

Coming Soon – Dark Roast Press: http://darkroastpress.comThe company is looking at an April 2008 launch. I’ll be doing regular updates at both my Live Journal and my page on MySpace so as soon as I have an exact date so will the public. In addition, the company will keep the public apprised of the launch countdown by checking out Dark Roast Press’s MySpace page. 

Thanks for stopping in and I hope you enjoy yourself. J 

I did enjoy myself very much thank you for having me. J

