In the spotlight: Rita Karnopp

6 03 2008

Dark Spirit by Rita Karnopp

Rita Karnopp has been writing for over fifteen years. Although originally from Wisconsin, she and her husband have lived in Montana for the past thirty-two years. She’s drawn to the history of the Native American and strives to bring alive the authenticity of a time past. When writing suspense or contemporary romance she enjoys bringing excitement and the enduring power of love to her stories. Watch for her upcoming releases: Wind Song, Dark Spirit, and Ransom Love, and Revenge coming in 2008 from Eternal Press and Whispering Sun with Uncial Press in May 2008. When she isn’t reading, writing or doing research, she enjoys making dream catchers, gold panning, crystal digging, rafting, fishing, canoeing, and spending time with her family.  She invites you to visit her website at www.ritaritr.com. 

www.ritaritr.com

ritakarnopp13@yahoo.com

www.myspace.com/ritakarnopp 

www.novelsisterhood.com

www.uncialpress.com 

http://eternalpress.com.au/ 

*********************

Getting to know Rita: 

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it. 

Fear and loneliness control Blackfeet historian, I-nis’-kim’s life.  Each lecture produces another death, for which he isn’t guilty, and is only steps ahead of the police.  He isolates himself … until he meets the beautiful, intriguing Skyler Grinnell.  

Skyler’s quiet and lonely world is turned upside down by the handsome and mysterious I-nis’-kim.  But is this man what he says or is he a clever killer?  Could she not only be in danger of losing her heart but her life as well?    

The killer is quick, relentless, and frighteningly efficient.  In spite of the suspicions and danger, I-nis’-kim and Skyler are drawn together with a force that ignites their passion.  Yet, that promise of love is threatened by deadly secrets and a killer who wants them both dead. 

 What do you like to do when you’re not working? 

I’m a happy camper with a book in my hands.   Nothing is more exciting and fulfilling as reading.  When I’m not reading I’m watching my Green Bay Packers and making dream catchers!  I also love crystal digging, gold panning, camping, canoeing, fishing, camping and hiking with my husband.  Spending time with my family is one of my greatest joys.

 What season is your favorite and why?

 I love spring… the birds chirping, fresh flowers, trees leaving, and the promise of warm weather in the air! 

 What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors? 

There truly are a lot of great authors out there.  I’m partial to Kat Martin and Stella Cameron.  I love BJ Daniels and Sheryl Heneke.  There are many authors that I’ve been reading lately like Julie D’Arcy, Judith Rochelle, Cindy Spencer Pape, Ellysa Lynne, Samantha Gentry, and Mary Martinez.  

  What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

 The last wonderful book I read was PEEK A BOO, by Mary Martinez.  It was available in ebook and print.  Since she’s a friend of mine, she sent it in paperback.  

What makes a good book? 

I love the comment, “No one waits for the action to begin.”  That’s what makes a great book.  A book that I can’t stop turning the pages.  The book that keeps me up until one or two in the morning.  A relationship, a love, peril, characters that I believe so I can cry, laugh and love right along with them.

 What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

 A couple of years back, my sister, Diane, and I did a 16-1/2 story free fall.  It was the most frightening and exhilarating thing I’ve done in my whole life.  I’d do it again … in flash!  What a hoot!! 

Boxers or briefs? 

Too funny…. Briefs!

Vin Diesel or George Clooney? 

Vin Diesel… but Diamond Lou Phillips is more my style!  

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 I was born in Wisconsin, and 32 years ago moved to Montana with my husband…at the time newlyweds of 2 years!   We have fallen in love with the Big Sky Country and will never move!!  We’ve live in Helena, Montana for the past 1-1/2 years…there are mountains surrounding us…it’s beautiful!

I’ve been asked how my history has affected my writing, and I must say…if it hadn’t been for a tough childhood, I might not have wanted to write… we were poor with a very dysfunctional family…so at night, hungry and trying to block out parents screaming at each other, I would climb into bed with my four siblings and close my eyes and dream up stories to block the rest of the world out….I was ten years old.

 To this day I still start my night with dreaming a story…and fall to sleep.  How has that affected my writing… if I am at a point I’m not sure where my ‘story’ is going…I just start my ‘sleep’ at the point my book is at…and start dreaming.  The next day my writing takes off!  I’m not joking… many of my stories are created this way. 

  Where are you published? 

Edgy suspense you can’t put down.  

 REVENGE    Eternal Press          Murder/Suspense  Nov ‘08  

 KIDNAPPED  Eternal Press            Suspense   2009‘Romancing the West.”    

 SACRED GROUND   Eternal Press        Contemporary Romance  Nov. ‘07   

  DARK SPIRIT   Eternal Press         Contemporary Romance  Mar. ’07~Indian Historicals~   

  WIND SONG   Eternal Press Jan. ’08  

   WHISPERING SUN   Uncial Press  Spring 2008    

DESTINY’S SHADOW   Eternal Press  Aug ‘08

Thanks for coming! J 

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 03 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for coming Rita. I love your cover for this one and the book sounds like an edge of the seat ride.

Raine

6 03 2008
Sloane Taylor

Great interview, Rita. I enjoy your books and your style. Free falling… lady, you’ve got guts.

6 03 2008
Cindy Spencer Pape

Excellent interview, Rita. And if this new book is anywhere near as good as “Wind Song,” we’re all in for a treat!

7 03 2008
Clare London

So great to learn even more about you Rita – and your spirit of adventure and love of life come bubbling through! Your books are great, evocative dramas, I’m always looking forward to the next one. Good luck with the launch of Dark Spirit on March 7!

(and I’m glad you left George Clooney for me…lol)
Clare 🙂

Leave a Reply

