In the Spotlight: Clare London

1 04 2008

gwcoversm.jpg 

  

Clare took the pen name London from the city where she lives, loves and writes. She juggles fiction with a frantic family life and waits for the far distant day when she can afford to give up her day job as an accountant. She’s written in many genres and across many settings, with short stories published both online and in print anthologies. Most of her work features male/male romance and drama, with a healthy serving of erotica, as she enjoys both reading and writing about strong, sympathetic and sexy characters. Clare currently has a fantasy novel in the process of publication, two more nearing the submission stage and plenty of other projects in mind . . . she just has to find out where she left them amongst the frantic family life. 

Clare’s website : www.darkpearldiva.com

Clare’s blog : http://claredivatoo.livejournal.com/  

 ****Getting to know Clare: 

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

Hi there – just want to reassure people this ISN’T an April Fool’s joke, I am really here, and I am chatting to you today LOL!The excitement for me at the moment is the release of The Gold Warrior at Dreamspinner Press, a novel that I first started a couple of years ago and finally see in print.  I’m still squeeing from the thrill of being on Amazon!  And Hot from the Press, the news for you all today is that I’m in the final round of edits for the sequel, The Twisted Brand, which is scheduled for release in June.Two instalments of fantasy romance heaven! 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

LOL I don’t know when I’m not working, with a full time job, husband and 2 teenage sons, and various other organizations that we help out at!  But I suppose my one personal treat is to write.  Obvious, right? 

What season is your favorite and why?

I love spring.  I love the fresh but dry weather, and the daffodils – my favorite flower – and the sense that things are growing and starting again. 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

Well you’d find my book LOL, no seriously, I have a huge jumble of stuff, I keep meaning to sort it, and also a lot of books I haven’t read yet.  There’s a lot of manga, and thrillers and humor and crime novels.

 I’m reading a Carl Hiassen at the moment, I love his witty, sardonic style.  I want to write like that one day! 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

In print, I read Regeneration by Pat Barker, about Seigfried Sassoon and his tour of duty in the British army during the First World War.   Superb, lyrical writing, beautifully observed dialogue, very sensitive writing.

 In ebook, there are two books that have struck me most in the last week or so.  One is Bard of Pain by Dusk Peterson, a superb, shocking, striking novel in an alternative world about a singular and initially unsympathetic torturer in the military.  But the development of his life and his beliefs is an amazing epiphany.The other is After Anna by Theda Black, a not-comfortable read in some ways because it deals with bereavement and the complex but passionate relationship between two men left behind, but I enjoyed the rich, tense, emotional writing very much. 

What makes a good book?

The characters, no doubt in my mind.  I’ll notice if a setting is weak or poorly written, but the main thing that keeps me going through a story is the bond I create with the characters and my care for what happens to them.  I love dialogue for that, too. 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

Written a book LOL.  Well, I’ve also won a sporting tournament, sung with a live jazz band, made Barbie frocks and kissed Lennox Lewis (on the cheek), so there are other things in the running!

 Boxers or briefs?Boxers.  Preferably black. 

Ben Affleck or Matt Damon to save the world?

Ben Affleck.  Poor Matt never got to smile much all through the Bourne movies.

 What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?How much I’ve enjoyed getting to know readers and other authors and joining the fiction community out there!  It’s definitely a benefit of net publishing – I love the contact.  And feel free to contact me any time! J 

Where are you published? 

At Dreamspinner Press www.dreamspinnerpress.com

The Gold Warrior/Ghost of Christmas yet to Come/Special Offer/Come Together

 At Eternal Press www.eternalpress.ca

Masquerade/Secret Santa/Just Like Scrooge/My Own Wings 

Thanks for coming! J

Thank *you* for hosting me, it’s been a lot of fun and I hope I’m getting better at these things as time goes on! 

Actions

Information

5 responses

1 04 2008
rainedelight

Thanks Clare for being here today. 🙂 Love the cover and congratsd. on the new release. So what draws you to M/M Romance?

Raine

1 04 2008
Clare London

Hi Raine!! It’s always fun at your blog!
That’s one of those deceptive questions that we think we know the answer to, but find it tricky to answer *lol*
Personally, I like the dynamics in m/m in a romantic context – I love the idea of two people without the strict gender differences that there are inherent in m/f, meeting and considering a relationship.
I love reading – and writing! – about the way that men interact with each other, both in talk and actions, and (let’s be honest) the different approach they may or may not have towards sex – different from that of a woman, anyway. Most women only ever have the chance to be receptive – it’s intriguing to see it from the other viewpoint.
And I love investigating and immersing myself in a relationship that’s slightly alien and exciting to me as a woman!

What do you think you and your visitors think about it?!
Clare 🙂

1 04 2008
rainedelight

Hey there Clare,

I have read some wondeful M/M stories where the I was not even aware it was a M/M book but a story of 2 people falling in love and whatnot. That is what a perfect M/M book is to me, one that makes you forget that you are reading a same sex story and one about two people traversing the bonds of love and romance. 🙂

Raine

1 04 2008
Ginger Simpson

Couldn’t let the day pass without dropping by and supporting Clare. She’s become a very dear friend through our connection at Eternal Press, and I guess I’ll always be thankful to them, not just for publishing my work, too, but for bringing such a stellar person into my life. Funny how cyberspace brings us together though miles apart. My hope is to one day meet Clare in person. She’s a great author as well as a pal.

Ginger

14 04 2008
Kaser’s STAR PULSAR

[…] to know about you or your work?How much I’ve enjoyed getting to know readers and … rainedelight.wordpress.com/2008/04/01/in-the-spotlight-clare-london/ Rainedelight’s Weblog rainedelight.wordpress.com No Comments so far Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

