In the Spotlight: Kristin Battestella

15 04 2008

 Kristin Battestella writes for her hometown newspaper in New Jersey and has been writing science fiction and horror for fifteen years.  She enjoys being at home with her family, collecting records, and creating web pages in her spare time.  Along with various sports articles in local magazines and online reviews for Firefox News,  Creative Singularity, and Flames Rising; Kristin’s first e-book The Adventures of Pave was published in 2005.  In 2007, Kristin’s serial Blood Type: V   ran with Gothic Revue, and The Vampire Family was re-released with Eternal Press this past March.  Currently Kristin is working on her next horror short story.

 http://jsnouff.com/kristin

 http://groups.yahoo.com/group/kristinbattestella

 http://kristin724.livejournal.com

 http://vampfam.blogspot.com

 http://ithinkthereforeireview.blogspot.com

 http://www.eternalpress.ca/vampirefamily.html

***********************

Getting to know Kristin:

Tell us about your latest book and what you think readers will get out of it.

 The Vampire Family is not a horror tale, per se.  It has a gothic, period piece feel with angst and drama and tragic love story to it.  The book begins  with medieval poverty and strife, then travels to modern consequences.  I hope readers can enjoy the story for all the vampire goodness, but also look for the food for thought.  People aren’t moved by books anymore.  We barely read or read because we have to. I seek to inform, inspire, and entertain.  I hope The Vampire Family  gets people thinking about the path they may or may not take in their own lives.  We tend to glorify darkness and sensationalism.  The characters in this book struggle with the world passing them and their selfish ways.

 

Can you describe your characters to us? Do you pattern them after anyone you know or is it pure imagination?  Characters, plot ideas, story twists, I get ideas from everything and nothing.  Sometimes I see people in a store and wonder what’s going on in their lives.  The scenarios  that I conjure up sometimes come out in story.  I think a good author needs to observe the human condition and kick it up a notch.  I’d like to think my characters are well rounded.  In  The Vampire Family the Welshire family may be vampires, but they’re people, too!  They struggle with the everyday and then some.  This is why I love genre.  You can give aliens and folks in far off times and places the same problems that we have.  Characters can say what we often cannot.  The Vampire Family’s patriarch Antiono is the best   type of character, because he doesn’t realize how corrupted he is  He thinks there is nothing wrong with his doings, in fact he started out with the best of intentions.   I love imperfect characters that serve as a mirror to the audience.

 

 What genre have you not done but want to in the future?  Hmm…I’ve written a little of everything.  It’s important to have a niche you do and love the most, but exploring new creative venues is always good.  I’d like to do more high fantasy.  It takes a lot of time and research to build your world and learn how to do something different in the genre.  I consider The Vampire Family a dark styled fantasy.  I’d love to return to my space opera work.  Again, these types are so vast!  You work on it for a few years, put it away, then return to it and expand.  It’s fascinating to see older material you wrote when you were a younger author  How have you changed? Has your writing change?  Where can you take this manuscript next?  I love possibility!  

 

 Tell us about your most erotic romantic fantasy. If you could have a 24-hour romantic fling with anyone you wanted, anywhere you wanted, where would you go, what would you do and with whom would you do it?  Well, I suppose there’s no shame in admitting I’m currently obsessed with Sean Bean.  I’ve been reading, watching, and reviewing Sharpe  amid his other, risqué films.  If you know who he his, then you know what I mean! My husband won’t like that answer!  I don’ t think my husband and I are romantic-we’re a bit unconventional.  We like to sit in the hammock and read or watch documentaries and go to museums or faires.  We’d love to go to Italy.  Rent a villa for 24 hours.  Hmm…When I get naughty actor thoughts I usually turn them into scenes for a story.  Picture an actor as one of the characters, let things play out and change.  Again my husband doesn’t like  it, but fanciful imagination has its purpose for an author!

 

 If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?  I really like helping people.  It sounds hokey, but I’d love to return to school and become a minister.  I’d like to be able to know a person’ s pain and lift it from them, or in the very least share it with them.  That experience of being utterly connected to a stranger and know exactly where they are coming from.  It’ s a very emotional experience and it brings such peace of mind.  Yeah, that’s the superpower I want.  Peace of mind!

 

 VIN Diesel or Gerard Butler?  Gerard Butler.  I liked Vin Diesel in Pitch Black, but not a lot since.  I liked Butler way back when he first came to America with Attila   Now everyone loves him because of 300.  I actually just bought The Phantom of the Opera, too.  Gerard Butler and Sean Bean could be in a movie together…

 

 Where can readers reach you?  My Yahoo group is a pretty busy place.  We chat there and host contests for a bit of fun and prizes.   I also answer comments left on my livejournal page, the Vampfam blog, or my new Reviews blog.  We’ve had a few tawdry discussions on that one! I’m pretty streaky about visiting other forums.  I’ ll be on one for a month then switch to another.  Mostly, I converse on the Absolute Write Forum.

 

 What is more fun to write about: Bad Boys or Perfect Gentlemen and why? Each has their purpose.  I’m not overtly romantic so sometimes too fine a gentleman can seem weak or boring after awhile, but with  the right level of sensitivity, a gentle guy is perfect and a lot of fun to read.  Bad boys can be much more interesting from the get go.  Why are they the way they are? What’s the level of bad?  Are they truly  evil or just rebelling?  I find questions that are answered or unanswered more fun to think about.  Maybe as women, we all think on ‘fixing’ the bad boy.  Making him good!

 

Do you watch Reality TV and if so, what is one of your guilty pleasures? If not, then what do  you prefer to watch?  I don’t care for reality shows. They seem so mindless to me. Although I’ll pretty much watch anything. Action, fantasy, historicals.  I’m into Sharpe now, but I was hooked on Homicideon the Streets before that. Lord of the Rings, horror and lots of science fiction. I waver between film obsessions and book obsessions.

 

 If you could visit any place and time, where and what would it be and why?  Well, I ‘d have to really think on it more , but I’d have to say the Garden of Gethsemane. I’m a very spiritual person, so to see where Jesus in his moment of doubt before his arrst and crucification would be amazing. Christ saying ‘I’m scared but I’ll do it for them anyways.’ Very Heavy Stuff.

 

 Where are you published?  Locally I can be found in my county newspaper, The Reminder.  I do my township newsbeat, photos, and the young person’s opinion column. A lot of e  houses have been closing unfortunately.  The Vampire Family was out last year with Mardi Gras Publishing.  When that company ended badly, we were wonderfully taken in with Eternal Press.  I’ve got two other books in the submission phase now.  Wish me luck!   

 

 
 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 04 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for being here Kristin and sitting in the hot seat with me. *grins* I love the cover. Who did it for you?

How many will be in this series?

Raine

15 04 2008
Kristin

Hi Raine! Thanks for having me! My cover was done by Julie Darcy. It was even nominated for a Covey Award! She does great work at Eternal Press.

The Vampire Family is a stand alone at this time, but the potential for a series is what greatly interested EP. I even love the subtle leathery frame around the edge to match a sequel! I have several short stories about each of my vampires. It’s just a matter of twisting them together in the right way, you know?

20 04 2008
linda bass

OH VAMPIRE FAMILY SOUNDS SO GOOD AND WHAT A GREAT INTERVIEW!!

23 04 2008
Rita Karnopp

Very nice, Kristin…. so happy for you!
hugs, Rita

Leave a Reply

