In the Spotlight today: J. M. Snyder

29 04 2008

J.M. Snyder writes gay erotic/romantic fiction and publishes with Amber Quill, Aspen Mountain, and Torquere Presses, as well as self-publishes through Lulu Press.  Snyder’s short fiction has been published online at Ruthie’s Club, Tit-Elation, and Amazon Shorts, and has also appeared in anthologies by Aspen Mountain Press, Cleis Press, and Alyson Books.  Free fiction, book excerpts, and monthly contests can be found online at the author’s website: http://jmsnyder.net

****************

Getting to know JM Snyder:

 

Tell us about your latest book and what you think readers will get out of it.

My latest book is Conflict of Interest, released in e-book format by Torquere Press on April 26th (and in print format through Lulu Press in May).  When Alex Hitchner signs up to volunteer at a local youth shelter, he is not prepared to be introduced to Jamie Owens, an 18 year old boy with a bad attitude. Just two years younger than Alex, Jamie is nervy, precocious, and damn sexy, to boot.

But Alex sees himself as a mentor to Jamie, someone to look up to, someone to prove to the kid that being a gay man does not mean casual sex in crowded clubs. He tries to keep his distance, both physically and emotionally, but Jamie becomes a part of his life in a way Alex doesn’t expect. Alex must choose between giving into his desires or leaving the program—and Jamie—behind.

I hope that readers will enjoy the characters’ relationship as it blossoms into romance, despite Alex’s best efforts to keep Jamie at bay.  I think that there is a level of budding eroticism throughout the story, a newfound excitement in falling in love for the first time, that readers will enjoy.

 

Can you describe your characters to us? Do you pattern them after anyone you know or is it pure imagination?

 

My characters are an amalgam of people I’ve met or have known throughout my life as well as my own traits and characteristics.  There isn’t any one person who has inspired a particular character; rather, they are a combination of so many different aspects that they become their own unique people.  I think that using people you know as a building block to start creating a character helps make that character “real,” but there comes a point when the character takes on a life of his own and becomes his own entity.

 

What genre have you not done but want to in the future?

 

Well, all my books revolve around gay characters.  I wouldn’t necessarily call them romance or erotica (particularly my longer stories), but homosexuality is present in every story I write.  My favorite genres are contemporary and futuristic, but I would love to write more epic fantasy (with magic and knights and kings) or outer space sci-fi (with aliens and spaceships).  I’ve done some but nothing really involved.  I would also like to write more historical stories, particularly those set during wars (the American Revolution or Civil War, World Wars I & II, etc).  Those are the kinds of stories I’d like to read, so I want to try my hand at them some day.

 

Tell us about your most erotic romantic fantasy. If you could have a 24-hour romantic fling with anyone you wanted, anywhere you wanted, where would you go, what would you do and with whom would you do it?

I would really prefer to skip this question, as my erotic fantasies all involve gay men and not myself.  Even in my daydreams, I play the role of author.  My fantasies are written out in my books; I spend a lot of time playing out my stories in my mind, which is just one of the ways I write.  By the time I’m ready to put pen to paper, the gist of the tale is already in place and I just have to write down what I see on the screen in my mind’s eye.

If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

I would like to have telekinesis (the ability to move objects with my mind).  That would allow me to write while I mentally clean the house, or better yet, I could be asleep and mentally typing on the computer, working on my next story, at the same time.  Actually if I could do that, I’d invest in an old-fashioned typewriter, so I’d be able to listen to the keys clack clack clack continually as I went about my other daily chores.

If you could visit any time and place, where and when would it be and why?

I’m a huge history buff, and would love to be able to visit Colonial America.  Either during the Revolutionary War or the Civil War—those had to be exciting times in which to live, times of tumultuous change, when a person had to take a stand and fight for their beliefs.

Who’s more fun to write about, bad boys or perfect gentlemen and why?

Bad boys, definitely.  Even my “perfect gentlemen” have hidden secrets and flaws.  That’s what makes a character memorable, what allows readers to connect with them: their imperfections, their insecurities, their human nature.  I think perfect characters are boring. 

Do you watch reality TV? If so, what is one of your guilty pleasures? If not, then what do you prefer to watch?

I don’t watch a lot of TV, but I love American Idol.  Sometimes I will also watch America’s Next Top Model, but that’s the extent of my reality TV fix.  Otherwise I watch the History Channel.

VIN Diesel or Gerard Butler?

They’re both attractive in different ways, but neither really my speed.  I’m more of a River Phoenix type, I think.  Not so much action hero as tortured artist.

Where can readers reach you?

Blog: http://jmsnyder.com
Website: http://jmsnyder.net
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/jmsnyder23
LiveJournal: http://jmsnyder.livejournal.com
Yahoo! Group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jmsnyder
E-Mail: jms@jmsnyder.net

Where are you published?

Aspen Mountain Press: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
Amber Quill Press:
http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/bio_Snyder.html
Torquere Press:
http://www.torquerebooks.com/zencart/index.php?manufacturers_id=92 
Lulu Press:
http://www.lulu.com/jmsnyder
Fictionwise:
http://www.fictionwise.com/eBooks/JMSnydereBooks.htm
Ruthie’s Club:
http://www.ruthiesclub.com/fold.php?pg=author&a=86
Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/My-books-amp-stories/lm/R258C1KIVI8Z68/

Thanks for stopping in and I hope you enjoy yourself. J

 

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 04 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for being here JM. I really enjoyed getting to know about you and your work. What drew you to write M/M stories vs. M/F stories?

Raine

29 04 2008
JM Snyder

Thanks for having me in the spotlight, Raine! I’ll be honest and tell you that M/F does nothing for me. I prefer gay fiction because there’s more danger between the characters, more risk involved, more emotion. Between a man and a woman it’s always yes or no; between men, it’s a hesitant maybe that hides from societal pressure and personal fear. I like to think my stories contain powerful gay characters who stay true to themselves in spite of the odds against their happiness and love.

Leave a Reply

