In the Spotlight: Jane Beckenham

14 05 2008

Author Jane Beckenham found literature at a young age.  In books she discovered dreams and hope, stories that inspired in her a love of romance, and travel.  Years later, after a blind date, Jane found her own true love and married him eleven months later.

Life has been a series of  ‘dreams’ for Jane.  Dreaming of learning to walk again after spending years in hospital. Dreaming of raising a family. And of course, dreaming of writing.

With her family growing up, life is a round of playing mum’s taxi service, all the while wondering what her hero and heroine are up to behind her back!  Writing is Jane’s addiction—and it sure beats housework.

You can contact Jane via her web site www.janebeckenham.com or email her at neiljane@ihug.co.nz  Want to join her newsletter, a monthly chat about books, authors and fun.  Go to Jane’s Newsletter or her myspace page.

 

Getting to know Jane:

 

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

 

I have three books scheduled for release this year (so far – LOL) Cerridwen Press has contracted a time travel/romance – Love in Waiting – it’s the story of a book store owner from Massachusetts who gets hurled back in time, only to find love doesn’t wait for the right time. Love in Waiting is set in the period when Henry 8th was about to marry Anne Boleyn.

Then Red Rose Publishing has contracted two contemporaries.  No Sex Necessary is a book set here in New Zealand where I live, the story of how desperate someone will go to survive despite the risks of public humiliation.

Then there is The Sheikh’s Proposal, part of Red Rose’s Desert Rose collection.  This is set on an island near the Mediterranean where the perfume industry has been handed down through generations, and where Sheikh Tariq al Sulamein has to decide if he’d prepared to lose everything…for love

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

I should be gardening, the weeds are way too high. We are owners of vintage cars and often go on day trips with other enthusiast, plus I do a lot of girlie things with my daughters.

 

What season is your favorite and why?

Autumn.  I love the change of colors (and probably this is the same for Spring too), but it’s a gentle time and often a relief after a long hot summer. 

 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

Sandra Hill, Sophia James, Melissa James, ND Hansen-Hill, Melody Knight and Yvonne Walus. Lots of romance books mostly, lots of research books for historical stuff. And my one weakness – interior decorating magazines!

 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

It was Sophia James’ Masquerading Mistress – loved it.  Also the book before that was her book – High Seas to High Society.  Loved it too!

 

What makes a good book?

A story that leaves me happy, and with a smile on my face, the one thing I really hope to be able to do for my readers too.

 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

I’ve lived all over the world, England, Israel, Canada, but I think the most wonderful thing I’ve done is adopting my two daughters from Russia 12 years ago.

 

Boxers or briefs?

Briefs!

 

Vin Diesel or George Clooney?

Oh without a doubt George Clooney

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

That I love what I do, that I really want to make them happy, that I loved receiving the feedback I got from them for Hiring Cupid, and He’s the One (Linden Bay Romance)

 

Where are you published?

I’m published at

Red Rose Publishing

Linden Bay Romance

Treble Heart Books

 

Thanks for coming! J

Thank you so much for having me.

 

Regards Jane

www.janebeckenham.com

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

14 05 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for being here Jane. I love your cover and had a hard time choosing for the spotlight.

*smiles*

I am looking forward to hearing more on your work inthe near future. 🙂

Raine

14 05 2008
Jane Beckenham

Thanks Raine for having me.
Glad you like the covers. I really think my cover artists got the essence of each book, so very happy with them.

Regards
Jane

14 05 2008
Cindy Spencer Pape

Great interview, Jane! Your books sound wonderful.

14 05 2008
Sophia Danu

Terrific interview Jane! I love the cover! This book looks awesome!

14 05 2008
Anita Birt

A very good interview. I felt as if I could sit down and chat with you. You love writing as much as I do. The hours fly by when my fingers are flying. I liked that you have fun with your two daughters! That is so great. They grow up so fast and get married and before you know it, you are a grandmother, like me. Best wishes for your writing. May you have lots of sales.

15 05 2008
Jane Beckenham

Thanks Cindy and Sophia. I love my covers, and think my cover artists do a great job. If you want to check out my other covers and of course my books (LOL) go to http://www.janebeckeham.com
Regards
Jane

15 05 2008
Jane Beckenham

Thanks Anita. Much appreciated, but i think i’ll hold off on the granny stakes for a while LOL – my girls are only 16 and 19 at the moment.
And yes i love my writing, but then yesterday when nothing went right (was trying to write a sex scene!) boy was it a hard and long day (pardon the pun)

Jane

Leave a Reply

