In the Spotlight: Sloane Taylor

27 05 2008

Sloane Taylor is a sensual woman who believes humor and sex are healthy aspects of our everyday lives which carry over into her books.

 

If travel to exotic locations is your thing, along with heroes who rock your world and heroines who keep them in line, then you’ll love a Sloane Taylor novel. Her stories are set in Europe where the men are all male and the North American women they encounter are both feminine and strong. There’s always a twist, and as a true romantic, the women Sloane writes will bring more than lust to their men’s lives.

 

Born and raised in Chicago, Sloane and Studly, her mate for life, split their time between a home in Illinois and a weekend cottage on the back roads of Indiana. If you can’t find her in either place, you can always catch up with her traveling though Europe researching for new material.

 

 Please visit her at www.sloanetaylor.com or http://www.myspace.com/sloanetaylor.

******************

Getting to know Sloane:

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

 

French Twist is the third book in the Naughty Ladies of Nice series. It’s my first attempt adding suspense to a novel. Mind you since I write erotica the focus is still on the characters and their attraction to each other. Here’s the blurb:

 

Interpol agent Claudette D’Laquois is on the run. Dull Uncle Paul and his rundown chateau in Nice, France are her only safe haven. She never allowed for a delectable estate manager more threatening than the Russian mob boss who wants her dead.

Three weeks of overseeing the operations on his friend’s orchard seems like the ideal vacation to CPA Don Hobbs. It was, until a sex goddess pulls him into a world of drugs and intrigue.

 

I hope the readers enjoy the storyline and characters. This is a fun series to write with each book quite different. I’d like to continue it for more stories, but that’s up to the readers.

 

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

 

Definitely read, but my absolute favorite is cooking. Six nights of the week I cook, not because I have to but because I want too. Scouring through cookbooks then adapting recipes to what we like is my kind of fun.

 

Each month we post a complete menu on my website that’s easy and tasty. I’m always looking for new recipes. Studs is my taste tester. The man sure has given his seal of approval to some terrific meals sent over by author friends and readers.

 

Hint, hint, Raine.J

 

What season is your favorite and why?

 

Spring, when the world starts new, is the best. I enjoy gardening, not the weeds part, and dining alfresco. Doesn’t that sound romantic? We have a small patio with a fenced in garden that looks very much like one you’d see in France. On clear evenings Studs will lug out the telescope. We’ll sit there for hours with a nice bottle of wine watching the stars.

 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

 

Not what you’d expect for a romance writer. Lol. I’m an eclectic reader. Anything and everything is packed onto my shelves. There’s plenty of murder, poetry, the classics, all types of romance and a hefty selection of non-fiction. I almost forgot the 70 plus e-books stored in my computer! Of course there are a slew of reference books on writing and editing.

 

My true favorite is Alexander Solzhenitsky. Not too many people have heard of him or if they have, remember him. He wrote One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich which explained life in the Russian Gulag. The book was released in 1963. My poor copy is yellowed and tattered and one of my prized possessions.

 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

 

It was an e-book from eternal Press, Viet Nam Holiday by Bruce Cooke. There’s something about a guy who writes sensual that takes me over the top.J

 

What makes a good book?

 

For me it’s the plot. Romance or mystery I want a story that keeps me enthralled until the last page.

 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

 

A few years ago I had the opportunity to walk one mile on the Great Wall of China. The entire trip was mind blowing, but that day, talking with the people and being on the Wall was the opportunity of a lifetime.

 

Boxers or briefs?

 

Either!! It’s the guy inside that matters.

 

Ben Affleck or Matt Damon to save the world?

 

Can I plug in Sean Connery or Matthew McConaughey? Or how about both in a softly lit room and yours truly? Oops, I forgot, they’re supposed to be saving the world. J

 

Where are you published?

 

FRANCINE ON FIRE is at Aspen Mountain Press www.aspenmountainpress.com where TEDDI TURNS ON will appear in June and PHOTO OP! later this year.

 

FRENCH TART and FRENCH DELIGHTS are at www.eternalpress.ca with FRENCH TWIST coming in June followed by FRENCH KISS and FRENCH TICKLER.

 

Thanks for coming! J

Thanks so much for having me, Raine. It’s been great gabbing with you.

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

27 05 2008
rainedelight

Hey there Sloane,

Thanks for being in the spotlight and sharing al ittle of your new book with us. How many are in the Naughty Ladies series? I love this cover and look forward to more. 🙂

Raine

27 05 2008
mizging

That’s my girl! BUT, I can’t believe you actually love to cook. I did once upon a time, but now I’m all about being the taste-tester. So…hook me up when you need one. 🙂

Great interview

Ginger

27 05 2008
Sloane Taylor

Raine, it was great fun playing with you!

Naughty Ladies has five books;
French Tart – Released
French Delights – Released
French Twist – Releasing June 7
French Kiss – Releasing either September or October
French Tickler – Releasing December

And THANK YOU for asking!!

27 05 2008
Tabitha Shay

Hey Sloane,
Great interview and yes, I like Sean Connery too….he’s still a looker….lol….Tabs

27 05 2008
Susan Kelley

Hi Sloane. I would love to see the Great Wall, but I have to disagree with the guys you picked to save the world. Matt Damon all the way.
good luck with all those new releases coming up this year. You’re one busy lady.

27 05 2008
Melissa

Wow Sloane, the Great Wall of China. That’s an impressive trip. I love the Naughty Ladies of Nice and the Magnificent Men of Munich, oh heck all of your stuff. You wrtite stories I can’t seem to put down. Keep them coming.

28 05 2008
gab

I want you to come cook for me! I could go weeks without entering the kitchen! I love the titles of your books! Gotta tell you French Tickler is my favorite title so far!

Leave a Reply

