In the Spotlight: Willa Okati

10 06 2008

 I can most often be found muttering to myself over a keyboard, plugged into my iPod and breaking between paragraphs to play air drums. In my spare time I’m teaching myself to play the pennywhistle. I have forty-plus separate tattoos and hope someday to have a full body suit of ink. I tend to walk around in a haze of story ideas, dreaming of tales yet to be told, and I drink an alarming amount of coffee for someone generally perceived to be mellow.

 

http://www.willaokati.com

http://willaokatiwrites.blogspot.com/

http://www.myspace.com/willaokati

 

****

Getting to know Willa:

 

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

 

My latest release is “Forever Today” (http://loose-id.com/detail.aspx?ID=730), available at Loose Id (loose-id.com).  I love to tell love stories where the men are men but they have great big hearts, aren’t afraid to risk it all or do whatever’s needed for the one they love, and they always have a happy ending.  Forever Today is one such story, in which a broken heart has a chance at being mended.  Adriano, the scion of an Italian vineyard family, broke off his affair with Rick Sullivan, an ex-pat travel writer, some years ago. Rick chose to live like a hermit in the Italian countryside after that, deciding he’d rather be alone. In other words: bah humbug! All that changes in an instant when Adriano arrives on his doorstep (literally) unable to remember who he is, only knowing that he’s been looking for a long time for his one true love — Rick.  Rick takes Adriano in and cares for him, helping him regain his strength, but then the choice comes between keeping Adriano as he is now — sweet, loving, and unblemished by his dark past — or pushing Adriano to regain his memories and possibly destroy everything good between them. I hope that readers will enjoy the love story, cheer Rick on when he chooses love, and root for a happy ending between these sexy men under the warmth of an Italian sun.

 

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

 

Since the weather’s warmer now, I like to design and paint henna on my hands and feet and practice on anyone who’ll sit still long enough.  Henna’s an absolute passion of mine and fair warning, I can go on and on for hours about it!

 

What season is your favorite and why?

 

While I like summer because that’s henna season, winter is my absolute favorite. My idea of heaven is a hot cup of coffee, a crackling fire made of fragrant driftwood, a cozy blanket and a cat purring on my lap — while it’s snowing outside.

 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

 

You’d find a heck of a lot of e-books!  Some of my favorites are Lynn Lorenz, M.L. Rhodes, J.M. Snyder, Jet Mykles, J.L. Langley, and Ally Blue.  Among the paperbacks, you’d find a lot of Jim Butcher, Laurell K. Hamilton, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman and Mercedes Lackey.

 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

 

The last mass-market book I read was Jim Butcher’s “Small Favor”.  I’m really into the continuing adventures of Harry Dresden and treating myself to an hour of reading time per day is a treasure.  The last ebook I read was Ally Blue’s “Untamed Heart”.  WOW.  Ally tugs at the heartstrings and makes you need some ice at the same time.

 

What makes a good book? 

 

Characters that I care about, that I like, and that I want to have a happy ending.  They could be older, younger, heavier, thinner, handsome or not, but if they capture my heart then I’m a fan for life.

 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

 

Worked in a tattoo parlor!  (I did henna.)  That was an experience! 

 

Boxers or briefs?

 

Boxer-briefs or jockey shorts.

 

Ben Affleck or Matt Damon to save the world?

 

Jimmy Kimmel!  (Just kidding.)  I’d actually say that Jeffrey Dean Morgan could do a great job of saving the world, but if pushed to it I’d choose Matt Damon.  Who doesn’t like Bourne?

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 

I’m always open to chat with folks.  Anything anyone would like to ask me, ask away.  I’m also working on building my blogs:

 

http://willaokatiwrites.blogspot.com/

http://www.myspace.com/willaokati

 

My website (http://www.willaokati.com) is under construction right now, but will hopefully be all kinds of shiny and new soon.

 

Where are you published?

 

I’m published with five different houses right now:

Changeling Press: http://changelingpress.com/author.php?uid=35

Loose Id LLC: http://loose-id.com/searchresult.aspx?CategoryID=158

Torquere Press: http://www.torquerebooks.com/zencart/index.php?manufacturers_id=76&zenid=b5e2c4c75bf7bc1a0e83c6e46a48aad1&main_page=index

Samhain Publishing: http://samhainpublishing.com/authors/willa-okati

Total e-Bound (Coming Soon): http://www.total-e-bound.com/authordetail.asp?=w4857i254851&A_ID=75#booklist

 

Thanks for coming! J

 

Thanks for having me here!  J

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 06 2008
rainedelight

Hey there Willa,

I love henna. What got you interestd in it? I wish I knew places around me to do it. It looks awesome!

Thanks for coming on by!

Raine

10 06 2008
Willa Okati

Hi Raine! Gosh, this looks fantastic. Thank you so much for the opportunity to come by! 🙂

I love henna so, so much, everything about it, from the rich green smell to the coolness of the paste to my quest to find the perfect red.

Got interested in henna when I went to a Renaissance Faire maybe ten years ago and, while I didn’t have the $ at the time to get my hands done, couldn’t stop watching the booth in awe. The earthy beauty of the henna designs just called to me in a way no other art form ever had.

I taught myself how to mix and apply henna, and learned through trial and error what works, and what doesn’t. (I warned you that I could go on for hours about it, lol — but the best henna guru on the intarwebs is Catherine Cartwright-Jones. You can learn everything here, and she has links to approved distributors.

http://www.hennapage.com/henna/how/index.html

…why have I not yet written a novel about a henna artist? I don’t know. *G* I should, though!

10 06 2008
Lena Austin

Hey, Willa! If we ever meet up at a con or something, you can paint a little henna on me. Temporary I can do! LOL!

I’ve been recently converted to Harry Dresden fandom.

Lena

10 06 2008
rainedelight

Same here Lena. She can do henna onme anytime. I can take that over the pain of needles. LOL

Willa….thanks for coming on by! I love having youhere and look forward to seeing you again!

Raine

11 06 2008
Daun Ann Korty

I had henna done on my at my first Ren Faire, five years ago, when and where I got married. I loved my celtic circle she did for me. One good thing about having the henna done, you can have a trail on what and where you would want your next tattoo.

Willa, LOVE YOUR BOOKS.

11 06 2008
Daun Ann Korty

wow, the blog clock is off. I posted my previous post at 12:08am central time and the blog clock shows 5:09am.

Leave a Reply

