In the Spotlight: Cynnara Tregarth

12 06 2008

I was born in the heart of Chicago at a hospital on Labor Day many moons ago. According to my mom, even then I had a storyteller’s life. Then at the age of 4, I learned to read and write. They say that was when the genius within was unleashed. Reality was, mom didn’t want to hear me talking all the time and made me write my stories down. Little did she know how much influence it had—making me want to become a writer.

 

Currently I live in the penis state—I mean Florida. I get the joy of hot men, beautiful women, humidity and sunshine that turn you into leather…and NO SNOW!

 

If you ever want to know what I’m up to, come visit me at http://www.cynnara.com or at the League of Amazing Writers, www.leagueofamazingwriters.com. If you’d like a semi-regular newsletter—http://groups.yahoo.com/group/cynnaratregarth.

 

 

 

****

Getting to know Cynnara:

 

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

 

My upcoming release is with my soultwin, Sharyn Tregarth. It’s entitled Twin Flames of Imbolc. In the story, you get to meet the Twins. This is a prequel of sorts, since the Twins stories continue onward, but you also get a glimpse of some of my other characters in this story. I wanted to give readers something with a tinge of fantasy, yet linked to a contemporary setting. For me, I’d love to find Ambrosia Tavern.

 

The ebook will be available from www.redrosepublishing.com

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

 

Reading books(currently, I’m reading the Anita Blake books for their plotting technique), swimming, belly dancing, movies, cooking (I’m such a Food Network fan!), and spending time with family and friends.

 

What season is your favorite and why?

 

I love spring the best, I think. Though autumn has some great moments, there’s nothing like seeing the creation of life. The blooming flowers, the bringing of baby animals. (I admit, I love baby animals, they’re soooooo cute!)

 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

 

Which bookcase? LMAO I have way too many, but never enough since my bookshelves are 2 deep in books. If you hit my nonfiction books, you’d see things about Paganism, ancient Egypt, the Celts. If you’re looking at my romance bookshelf- you’d see a lot of erotic romance and paranormal books. If you looked at my other case, you’d see all my fantasy, sci-fi and miscellaneous books.

 

Fave author—hmm, way too many. But of late, I have 3 major authors—Angela Knight, Joey Hill, and Lena Austin. Why? They all write characters I love and have stories that I literally fall into. I get so immersed into the story, I forget that I’m not part of it. Makes it tough when I get to “the end.”

 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

 

I read 2 books the past few days. The first was Predator by Patricia Cornwall. It’s a Kay Scarpetta novel. That said, I used to be a huge fan, but in this book, I didn’t like the way she used present tense at all. And I still find that the characters hadn’t grown or matured as much as I’d hope since I stopped reading the books 3 years ago. But that said, that woman can plot something FIERCE. The storyline itself was compelling and I had no idea who the baddie was at all until it played out.

 

As I mentioned earlier, I’m reading Anita Blake novels again. I’ve finished the first 2 and am on Laughing Corpse. I enjoyed many of LKH’s earlier books, before I got tired, though I’ve got to admit Cerulean Sins was damn good. So, it seems at least her characters are learning and growing while not having much of the Godlike stuff that had been going on for a while. Looking at the plotline and the revelation of things, LKH has this way that just amazes me. Simply amazes me. I can only dream of being ¼ as good as she is.

 

What makes a good book?

 

Honestly—for me, it’s a solid plot, good pacing, and characters I can imagine myself being with or being. If I can’t see myself as one of the major characters, then it’s a no go. I want to like the people in the story and I want a plot that makes the time fly. A solid plot is one that answers questions, makes you question yourself and at the same time, it makes you guess what’s to come, allows you to predict some aspects, then shocks you when it doesn’t.

 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

 

The time when I went with friends to an underground BDSM club. Little did they know about some of my more interesting proclivities. I had a good time showing people that there was more to sex than just traditional missionary, doggie, woman superior. Yeah, that was one heck of a time!

 

Boxers or briefs?

Boxer briefs or nothing at all. *nods furiously* Those boxer briefs mold REAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLY nicely.

 

Ben Affleck or Matt Damon to save the world?

 

Captain Jack Harkness and Dr. Who (David Tennant) with my help of course!

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 

I’m slowly getting back into writing after a hard time, and if they’re hanging around the LAW group and some of the other places where I visit, they might just see some snippets of what I’m working on. I also want to thank them for their continued support.

 

 

Where are you published?

 

www.loose-id.net

www.redrosepublishing.com

 

Thanks for coming! J

 

Actions

Information

One response

12 06 2008
rainedelight

Hey there Cyn,

Love the cover for Shades and I have to check this series out. Looks fabulous!!!

I love Food Neteowrk. Boytoy thinks I am nuts but I get some really good ideas there. 🙂

What is one of your favorite things to make?

Belly dancing??!!! AWESOME! Sounds like a fun way to exercise. 🙂

Thanks for coming.
Raine

Leave a Reply

