In the Spotlight: Emma Ray Garrett

16 06 2008

“…and I — I took the road less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.”

-The Road Not Taken, Robert Frost

The last line from award-winning author Emma Ray’s favorite poem pretty much sums up her life. Her tendency to do her own thing is what her friends and family love best, and least, about her. Chaos is a constant in the Garrett home, which currently houses three intelligent, energetic children, a devoted husband, and a very large, very lazy, white tom-cat.

No matter how busy, Emma Ray writes every day. If she didn’t, she says they’d put her in a white coat with buckles. Fans can contact her at emmaraygarrett@changelingpress.com or visit her website at http://www.romance-the-night.com.

*************************************** 

Getting to know Emma:

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

 

“Viva Los Regalos: Cocked Dice” is the follow up to Amy and Adyan’s story from “Viva Los Regalos: The Luxy Lady”. I hope readers have a great time with Amy, Adyan, and Vince and for those who’ve asked for more BDSM themes from me, well, I think they’ll be especially pleased, LOL.

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

 

I love to read, LOL, though I haven’t had time for much of that lately. I also enjoy hiking and going to the movies. Mostly, though, if I’m not working, I’m busy being the mother of three very energetic children, LOL!

 

What season is your favorite and why?

 

Fall is my favorite season. I grew up in Iowa, and live their now, and there’s nothing quite like autumn on the Mississippi River. Unlike a lot of my home state, where I live has a lot of trees, parks, and wild places, which really come to life when the leaves start to change and the days turn crisp. The smell of burning leaves, the smell of harvested corn, hot apple cider, those things are just some of the reasons I love fall.

 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

 

If you looked, you’d probably be surprised J I do have a lot of romance, don’t mistake me, but my tastes stretch across the palate. From Lori Copeland – light, fun, mostly sweet western romances- to Thea Devine and Robin Schone – extremely explicit period erotica. Angela Knight, Lori Foster, Johanna Lindsey, Bertrice Small, Kathleen E Woodiwiss, Emma Holly, ROFL, and many, many more.

 

What’s more surprising, probably to fans, is that the romance section of my shelves is a bit under filled compared to the size of the collection. I love Michael Crichton and I have every book he’s ever written. Dean Koontz, John Saul, Stephen King (though only a few, I’m particular about my King, LOL), F. Paul Wilson, James Patterson, Michael Gruber, Mercedes Lackey, Piers Anthony, “My War Gone By, I Miss It So” – one of less than a dozen non-fiction books, but one of my favorite books of all time-, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Tess Gerritsen, Iris Johanson (both her romance and her thrillers), and many, many, many more.

 

If you asked what my favorite was, I could never answer. I can tell you that Michael Crichton is always high on the list, as is Robin Schone, Michael Gruber, and F. Paul Wilson.

 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

 

The last book I read was “Spaceport: Incognito” by Cat Marsters. I loved it! Cat is on my auto-buy list anywhere she has a book out. I simply adore her style J

 

What makes a good book?

For me that’s pretty simple. Write a story that draws me in, keeps me engaged, and entertains me. If an author gets the gears in my head turning that’s fantastic, but it’s equally wonderful to be taken away to somewhere or some when else, following a character or characters that I care about. I’m all about the entertainment, LOL, so as long as I’ve been entertained, the book was good.

 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

 

Besides piercing my tongue? LOL, honest to goodness, getting married and having children. If that doesn’t make life interesting, nothin’ will. I’ve done a lot of crazy things in my life, but that doesn’t make those acts interesting, per se, LOL! I never know for sure what each new day will bring with my children. They definitely keep me on my toes. That’s exciting and interesting J

 

Boxers or briefs?

 

None? ROFL, oh, um, either. Doesn’t matter to me at all. A snug pair of briefs can be delicious, but lounging in his boxers is just as lovely *BG*

 

Ben Affleck or Matt Damon to save the world?

 

Clive Owen? Gerard Butler? Seriously, while both Ben and Matt have their plusses, I can’t really buy either of them saving the world. I’d take Clive, any day, LOL!

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 

I am asked about my name a lot, LOL. Do I want to be called Emma or Emma Ray? Truth is, I prefer Emma Ray, but either is perfectly fine, *grin*! As for my work, I love mixing up genres and themes and I intend to continue doing so for as long as there are publishers who will have me even though I don’t stick to any genre rules J

 

Where are you published?

 

Currently, I’m only with Changeling Press. The staff and my editor have kept me very busy over the last two years, LOL! However, I’ve taken a bit of a hiatus to work on some longer pieces I hope to see published with different houses. I adore Changeling and thankfully, they understand I want to flex those long story muscles again, LOL.

 

Thanks for coming! J

 

Thank you for having me!

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 06 2008
rainedelight

Hi Emma,

Thanks for coming and youpierced your tongue??!!! OMG!! How brave! What made you decide to do that?

I lOVE ms. Small’s work and she is on my auto-buy list and read list. I see alot of people enjoy Gerard to save the world. LOL Heck he is quite easy on the eyes though BT will tell you that I am slightly nuts as well. LOL

Raine

18 07 2008
emmaraygarrett

ROFL! Small, Schone, and Devine are definitely auto-buys for me. And Gerard is SO easy on the eyes, LOL, although I’d toss him over for Clive, LMAO!

Leave a Reply

