In the Spotlight: Dawn Montgomery

19 06 2008

Writing is more than a passion, it’s a necessity.  I tell adult action adventure romances, hopefully well, and look forward to many more years doing so.  Without my family, I wouldn’t be here, doing what I do. 

 

http://www.dawnmontgomery.com/blog

http://www.phenomena-authors.com

http://www.leagueofamazingwriters.com

http://www.daughtersofcirce.com

 

 

****

Getting to know Dawn:

 

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

 

In June I have a deliciously short vampire tale coming from Aspen Mountain Press.  It’s entitled Shadow Lies and involves an introduction to two hot and yummy characters. 

 

http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/coming-soon/coming-soon/plain-brown-wrapper-shadow-lies/prod_149.html

 

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

 

Read, play with my toddler, bake lots of delicious goods, hang out with my husband or anything crafty…except models.  I don’t build models anymore.  Loooong story.

 

What season is your favorite and why?

 

Winter.  I remember walking outside my home when I lived in Alaska and the entire world was covered in a glittering blanket of snow.  Everything was so still and quiet…

 

If there’s no snow, then I’d have to say the fall in Texas.  The leaves turn these gorgeous shades of red and orange…

 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

 

An eclectic mix.  I have books spreading across the genres, sci fi, fantasy, medical thriller, military operation resources, you name it. 

 

Favorite authors…I have three who influenced me more than anyone else when it came to doing things my own way. 

 

Anne McCaffrey: her strong-willed heroines were a welcome necessity to a lonely girl.  LOL. 

 

Morgan Hawke: She taught me how to cull the crap and get to the meat of the story.  I’ve had the privilege of being mentored by her.  I love how action packed her stories are, how full of rich life. 

 

Lynn Viehl: Her writing story is filled with strength and courage and her ability to reach out to her readers and aspiring authors is unbelievable.  She’s a true inspiration.  I’ve read books under almost all of her pennames and I love how she creates these vibrant and beautiful worlds full of intrigue and powerhouse characters. 

 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

 

Last ebook: The Fire Within by Joely Sue Burkhart.  The book is available from Drollerie Press.  OMG, it was amazing!  She has a storytelling ability that makes you FEEL the scorching heat of the desert on your skin.  Her dragons and the desert people are full of fire and passion.  I loved it.  J

 

Last print book: Evermore by Lynn Viehl.  I loved it.  Jayr is a woman I admire.  As the sole woman in a man’s (Kyn’s) world, she has to keep the peace more often than not.  The Darkyn world is so rich and vibrant with amazing characters.  I love visiting it as often as possible.  LOL. 

 

What makes a good book?

 

Strong characters.  This doesn’t necessarily mean physically or emotionally.  I’m talking about the whole package.  The strength of character to continue on, despite the worst possible consequences for their actions. 

 

Intriguing plot.  You have to draw me into the story, make me gasp in horror or cry with pain. 

 

A believable villain.  LOL.  If you have one, make them believable.  I dislike black hat vs white hat stories. 

 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

 

I drove across the country to meet a man I’d never met (outside the internet), and I did it on a whim when my brother (who I had been in transit to visit with) had to leave town on business. 

 

I met his kids, his sister, his dad, everyone.  We had a blast…and a year later, we were married.  LOL.  Of course this time HE had to come see me.  *WEG*

 

Boxers or briefs?

 

Boxer briefs baby.  J

 

Ben Affleck or Matt Damon to save the world?

 

Matt Damon.  Hands down. 

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 

Dawn Montgomery, my penname, is in honor of my grandmother who taught me that romance is beautiful, reading is as important as breathing, and life without sex is boring.  LOL.  Of course that last part she didn’t tell me until I was MUCH older.  ROFL.  She was scandalous. I loved her with all my heart, and still do.  I miss her so much. 

 

Where are you published?

 

Aspen Mountain Press

Changeling Press

Tease Publishing (2009)

 

Thanks for coming! J

 

Thanks for having me!

 

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 06 2008
rainedelight

Hey there Dawn,

Thanks for being here today. I love that cover and youlived in Allaska?! WOW! How cool. What was it like?

I love Texas except whent he heat hits big time. After living in San Antonio, I find myself longng for some good Tex-Mex food. LOL

Raine

20 06 2008
DawnMontgomery.com » Blog Archive » Dropping by to say…

[…] been interviewed by the wonderfully fabulous Raine Delight. She is such a wonderful lady to chat with! And I adore […]

30 07 2008
Dawn

Hey Raine!

LOL I think wordpress ate my reply! Yep, I *loved* it. It’s one of the most beautiful places on Earth and I really mean that. The winters are long, the summers, short, but the state will take your breath away.

LOL. Honey, I hear you on good Tex Mex! We ever meet up at a conference and I’ll cook you up something delicious!

Thanks for having me hon. I had such an awesome time chatting with you!

Leave a Reply

