In the Spotlight: Kathleen Grieve

3 07 2008

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

 The Doctor’s Deception is about a heart surgeon so focused on fulfilling a death bed promise, that he alienates his co-workers.  When he realizes he’s about to lose everything he’s worked hard for, he tells a little white lie to gain the help of the one nurse who can help him win back the support of the hospital staff, falling in love with her in the process.
 
I wanted to write a fast paced romance where readers will laugh and cry.  At the same time, I hope readers get a sense of what a real surgical intensive care unit is like. The work nurses and doctors do to save lives is stressful, heart-wrenching, and rewarding all at the same time.  I wanted to build some awareness about organ donation, as well. 

If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

 This may not be the correct answer, but instead of a magical power, I’d love to be a super-hero! LOL.  Flash Gordon comes to mind because I’d love to zip around getting a million and ten things completed that never seem to get done!  Then I could spend the rest of my time writing!


What do you like to do when you’re not working?

 I spend time with my family and try to get through my TBR pile.  I have a lot of great books just waiting for me to get to them.

Bad boy/girl or perfect gentleman/woman to write about?
 Well, Dr. Lassiter was an Extreme type-A personality.  He wasn’t alpha or beta but a mixture of both.  In my current work in progress, my hero is definitely a bad boy.  I’m enjoying the struggle of redeeming him.  Which has been challenging and a lot of fun.

If you could visit any time and place, where and when would it be and why?
 Boy, these questions are getting harder.  LOL.  Let’s see.  This may sound corny, but I’d like to visit the future.  Maybe 200 years forward, at least, because I want to know how far medical advances will go.  Will there be a cure for cancer? Diabetes? Heart failure?  Will the technology be such that all we’d have to do is run a scan over a person’s body and he’d be instantly diagnosed like in Star Trek? The possibilities out there are staggering.  
 
If you could be a shapeshifter, what form would you take and why?
I’d love to take on the form of a bird because I’d love to fly over the countryside and take in the sights.

Where are you published? Where can readers reach you?

 I am published with THE WILD ROSE PRESS at WWW.THEWILDROSEPRESS.COM. I have a website WWW.KATHLEENGRIEVE.COM where there are links to my blog and myspace pages.  Any reader can email me at kathleengrieveauthor@gmail.com


What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 I’ve been a registered nurse for 13 years, working the last 10 years in critical care.  I work full time, the night shift, in a very challenging intensive care unit.  Most nights are positively insane!  It has been interesting trying to balance work, family, and writing.  My ultimate goal is to be a part time nurse and full time writer!

EXCERPT from THE DOCTOR’S DECEPTION:  

Faith opened the door and there he stood.  She’d seen Dr. Lassiter in a suit and tie before.  He didn’t always wear scrubs while in the unit.  But she should’ve known after her traitorous reaction to him lately, that tonight would be different–more personal.

Her breath caught.

Okay, to be fair, she did want his body.  She could admit that freely to herself.

His honey blonde hair was damp and curled slightly at his collar.  From the wet look, he’d waited until the last minute to get ready.  Nothing vain about this man.  The dark dinner jacket he wore accentuated his powerful shoulders and broad chest.  The white shirt set a sharp contrast to his tan skin.  Her fingers itched to loosen the simple black silk tie and unbutton the top buttons of his shirt to get to what lay underneath.

“Hello, Faith.”

Slowly exhaling, she silently whistled and gazed into his eyes.  Jeez, get a grip.  Here she was undressing him before the evening had even begun.  But, the heat radiating from the brown depths set off fire alarms in her brain. 

Finally.  Melted chocolate.  Her gaze flew to his lips.  How would he taste?

Try as she might, there was no shutting out reality.  Her stomach quivered in tandem with her thoughts. 

Oh, my. 

“Hi, Dr. Lassiter,” she said, breathless. 

This is not a date.  This is not a date.  This is not…

His lips curved. 

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 07 2008
rainedelight

Hi Kathleen,

Thanks for being in the spotlight. I hope you enjoy your stay here. What inspired your new book from TWRP?

Raine

3 07 2008
Kathleen Grieve

Work and my love for writing. And I thought, what if? Thanks for spot lighting me here today. Sorry I’m so late, but I’ve worked the last several nights in a row and crashed this morning when I got home.

Kathleen

http://www.kathleengrieve.com

3 07 2008
jj Keller

Interesting questions! Describe the bird in more detail, Kathleen, I’m kind of curious.

LOL

3 07 2008
Theresa

Great blog! I’d like to go to the future too. LOL! That would be really cool. And DD is a wonderful fun book. Can’t wait for your next WIP.

Theresa

Leave a Reply

