In the Spotlight: AJ Hampton and a contest from her!

10 07 2008

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

AJ: My next release(s) (keep your fingers crossed!) won’t be coming out until the fall. Look for Familiar Magic and Harnessing the moon, both shape shifter novellas that with (a whole lot of luck) will be picked up. One is about a weretiger, the other a werejaguar. I’ve decided there aren’t nearly enough feline shifting stories out there.

 

 If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

AJ: I’d love to be able to teleport. Think of where I want to be, and bam! There I am. I’d travel the world, visit my family and friends who are spread across the country. And, I’d never have to sit in traffic again!

 

 What do you like to do when you’re not working?

 AJ: I’m an outdoor junkie. I love to go golfing, SCUBA diving, or just taking short hikes. You can’t beat the feeling of the sun bathing your skin with all its harmful goodness. I’m a huge fan of sunscreen. Yet, somehow I happen to forget to put it on almost every time.

 

 Bad boy/girl or perfect gentleman/woman to write about?

AJ: Bad boy, hands down. I like my men scruffy, shoulder length hair, total pains in the asses. There is something terribly sexy to me about a man who almost isn’t redeemable.

 

 If you could visit any time and place, where and when would it be and why?

AJ: At the moment? I’d go to France. My husband has been making watch the Tour de France. Hot men cycling like crazy with their tight little shorts, legs pumping, asses flexing… sorry. I got side tracked.

 

 If you could be a shapeshifter, what form would you take and why?

 AJ: I’d be one of the large cats. Tiger, jaguar, leopard… I love how graceful and powerful felines are.

 

Where are you published? Where can readers reach you?
  AJ: Currently I’m published at Cobblestone Press and Cacoethes Publishing. With any luck, (I’ve submitted Familiar Magic to Liquid Silver Books for their Halloween Contest Anthology) I can add them to my list of homes as well.

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 AJ: I’m actually pretty shy in real life. The fantasy world I’ve created in my head vastly differs from what actually happens. I’m witty, love having fun and playing games. When I write, I try to incorporate small parts of myself in there. And, with each piece that I write, I feel like I’m improving. I’m far from perfect, but I can see growth. That’s enough for me. Perfection is vastly overrated.

 

 Today I have a few things to give away. One, everyone who wants one can win a Tempting Sin bookmark (they are professionally finished and printed with a glossy finish). Anyone who leaves a comment will be entered to win a “Shape Shifter Rules” white tee-shirt – size x-large. It has a picture of tiger on the front, nothing on the back. Email me at aj_hampton@hotmail.com for the bookmaks!!

 Here is where you can find me:

Web: http://ajhampton.com

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/ajhampton

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/AJ-Hampton/31568798112

Blog: http://www.shapeshifterromance.wordpress.com


A sneak look into BENDING TO BREAK:

 

AJ: Today, I’ll be sharing a piece out of Bending to Break, my erotic paranormal romance, with readers:

From the side, Kayden caught sight of a heavy black boot aimed at her head.  Reflexes jumped alive. Just a hair’s breadth away from her cheek, she caught the demon’s ankle.  Twisting, she heard the sick pop before the leg went limp in her grasp. 

 

From five to three, Kayden felt her chest stinging as she flipped left and then right, dodging one blow after the other.  The vampires moved like speeding bullets; she heard the movement from both the front and back.  Jumping upwards, Kayden soared through the air with just enough height that her two attackers crashed headfirst into each other.

 

Kayden’s boots stuck into the muddy ground when she landed. It took more effort that she would have liked to propel her body forward. A stake in each hand, she attacked first one vampire, then the other, until they were nothing but dust.  Adrenaline surged through her, making each drop of rain on her skin feel like tiny sparks of electricity.  She circled the remaining vampire, no longer the prey but now the hunter.

 

Twisting, Kayden threw herself into a side flip that drew her behind her enemy.  Bringing her knee forward, she grabbed the vampire’s shoulders and forced its lower spine into her leg.  It hissed, its body dropping forward before Kayden helped it along and pushed it to the ground.  Her stake spun in her hand just before she plunged.  Just like that, it was over and the thing beneath her foot turned into a pile of dust.  

 

Bending forward, Kayden rested her hands on her legs as she drew in a deep breath. Just as her eyes closed, they snapped open again. She felt power wash over her. Straightening, Kayden heard the sound of applause. 

 

Lounging against a moss-covered crypt stood Jullian, a wide smile lifting the pale lines of his face. The long black coat he wore danced in the wind and did nothing to hide the hard planes of his body that were displayed through tight, black clothes. 

 

“Well done, sweetheart.” Jullian purred, the pet name dropping from his lips like acid as Kayden fell to her knees.

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

17 responses

10 07 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for being here AJ and I love that story. I t is on my to be read list. lol

Wishing you much joy and luck in your future writing projects.

Raine Delight

10 07 2008
Pamela K. Kinney/Sapphire Phelan

Shapeshifters do rule. Love the story.
Sapphire Phelan

10 07 2008
teresadamario

Shapeshifters are awesome, but then I’m biased. LOL.

Great answers AJ!!!

10 07 2008
Pauline Jones

I’d love to teleport, too. Be lovely to bypass airport security, not to mention the long, dull flights!

Great interview! 🙂
cheers,
pauline

10 07 2008
Peaches Girl

Hi again!!!(waves crazily) You know I love ya! Oh, just wanted to leave a small comment about the bikers…LOL I do so love those tight pants.

Muah**

Chat soon,
Peaches Girl

10 07 2008
Sierra Wolfe

Great interview AJ! I enjoyed learning a little more about you. Also loved the excerpt from Bending to Break. Sounds very interesting. Good luck with your books. Hope you get to add Liquid Silver to your list of homes too!

10 07 2008
Drea

Hey AJ. Great interview! Bending to Break looks amazing! It is def on my TBB pile…now if the money pile would just grow with it! Hee hee.

Speaking of teleporting, have you seen the movie Jumper? Makes me think of that and how awesome that would be. They could be anywhere with just a thought.

Have a great one!
Drea

10 07 2008
Deidre

Hi AJ! Teleporting would be awesome, like in the movie, Jumper. Shapeshifting also rocks. It would be so cool to get to pet the man of your dreams when he’s an animal. Literally, an animal. LOL

Deidre

10 07 2008
Savanna Kougar

Hi AJ, luved the excerpt! — took me back to Buffy days.
Best o’ luck with Liquid Silver. They’ve been good to me.

10 07 2008
Jean P

Great interview, loved the excerpt from Bending to Break
I agree would love to teleport, don’t look forward to airplane flights anymore.

10 07 2008
Leni

Feline shape-shifters? If I could get those books in Peru, I’d be at the bookstore already. But I’m really glad someone decided to tackle the meow!side of the animal kingdom – as much as I love werewolves, the idea of weretigers is making me smile like a loon.

Love the sneak peek, too. There’s something about the bad/good guy applauding and coming out of the shadows just after our heroine had won a fight… just purr-worthy.

Oh. And now, thanks to you, I’ll just HAVE TO pay a little more attention to the Tour of France when it comes on the news, lol.

K&S
Leni

10 07 2008
AJ

Thank you SOOO much to everyone who replied! I just got home from work! (((Hugs)))

11 07 2008
Jeanine

AJ your stuff always makes me want to read it. Have a wonderful day!

11 07 2008
:Candice:

Hey AJ!! I gotta say this interview was informative.. golfing huh lol My golfing experience is on the Putt-Putt course hahaha Hope you get to go to France soon, be sure to bring me a sexy hot french man! Love the books and look forward to more 🙂

-Candice

11 07 2008
Crystal B.

Hi AJ. Great interview and excerpt. I love shapeshifters. They do rule. 🙂

12 07 2008
AJ Hampton

And the winner is…. Peaches Girl!! I randomly chose the 5th poster and there she was!! You won a Shape Shifters Rule T-Shirt!! Email me at aj_hampton@hotmail.com – I’ll be back in a bit to comment on all the posts.

((hugs))

AJ

14 07 2008
tami

shoot , too late enter. but glad i found this site!

Leave a Reply

