In the Spotlight: Esther Mitchell

15 07 2008

Although unpublished until 2004, Esther Mitchell spent her life writing.  She learned to read on such classics as Gawain & the Green Knight and Beowulf.  Raised in Europe, with its wide exposure to mythology, history, and the paranormal, she quickly became fascinated by the lore of the unseen, culminating in a degree in parapsychology. 

            Life in a fast-paced, on-the-edge military community ingrained her with both an intimate understanding of the military world, and the ability to craft edgy suspense. 

            At the age of eight, she fell in love with romance, thanks to great authors like Christine Smith, Lindsay McKenna, and Cassie Miles.  By the age of twelve, Esther penned the first of a series of Arthurian romances, and was working on what would later become her very first release, the futuristic suspense series, Underground.

            Always dedicated foremost to her writing, she writes under her real name, and has completed about twenty novels to date, of which thirteen have been published, with more to come.  Reviewers and fans alike have dubbed her work “exciting,”  “edge of your seat” and “daring.”

 

Links:

 

Website: www.esthermitchell.com

blog: www.esthermitchell.com/blog

MySpace: www.myspace.com/authoresthermitchell

Tagged: http://www.tagged.com/esthermitchell

GoodReads:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/418596.Esther_Mitchell

 

 

 

****

Getting to know Esther:

 

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

    At the moment, I’m working on finishing up the third book of Project Prometheus, entitled SHADOW WALKER.  It follows another of Matt Raleigh’s team from Iraq, Trevor Watkins, as he deals with amnesia and an ability his experience in the Middle East jogged loose that he was previously unaware of. 

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

   *grins* Ain’t no such animal… lol.  I’m always working.  I have a day job, and then when I’m not working that or writing, I do freelance writing, and also run a parapsychology/spiritual wellness service (I hope one day to have the funds to turn it into a clinic).

 

What season is your favorite and why?

     I love them all, for different reasons, but I think I’m most fond of Fall and Winter, because there’s just such an overwhelming sense of honesty to them both – the reminder that all things must lie dormant or die.

 

What would we find on your bookcase if we looked? What is one of your favorite authors?

   *winks* Depends on the bookcase!  My house has nine of them.  Three have fiction books (mostly a blend of Romance, SF/Fantasy, and military), another has all my series “bibles” – the books I’ve created to hold all the information for the series/books I’m working on.  Three more contain writing research material – history books, maps, military & law enforcement books, dictionaries, etc.  The other two contain the books I use for my spiritual/parapsychology work. 

 

What was the last book you read (e or print) and did you like it?

     I honestly don’t remember which one was the LAST one I read.  I read so many I can’t keep up (believe me, I’ve only skimmed the absolute tip-top surface of what I’ve read on my Good Reads page). 

 

What makes a good book?

   Passion.  Not the passion between characters, necessarily, but the passion of the writer.  If the author is honestly passionate about his/her characters, setting, subject, etc, that translates into something that grabs the reader.  This applies to both fiction and non-fiction. 

 

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve ever done?

   *chuckle* There are so many things to choose from… I don’t know that I’d call them all that interesting – they’re my memories, after all, and they’re pretty tame in my mind – but other people are often fascinated by my different experiences.

 

Boxers or briefs?

   *grins* I assume you mean on my man… I really don’t care.  If you read my books, you’ll notice I actually have more of a thing for commando… 😉

 

Ben Affleck or Matt Damon to save the world?

   *blinks* Are those my only choices?

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

    I don’t write fluff, or erotic sexual books, even though some might contain an erotic scene or two (or more, in a few cases).  I write romance with real men and women, who have real issues to deal with like prejudice, trust, and trauma.

 

Where are you published?

    Currently, I have the first two books of Project Prometheus with Aspen Mountain Press, with more soon to follow, I’m sure.  Also, I have a charity book, BURDEN OF PROOF, available strictly through my website.  Anyone interested in purchasing my books or checking them out should visit the following links:

 

Project Prometheus #1: IN HER NAME

http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/in-her-name/prod_73.html

 

Project Prometheus #2: HOPE OF HEAVEN

http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/hope-of-heaven/prod_128.html

 

BURDEN OF PROOF

http://www.esthermitchell.com/HanoverInvestigations/Burden.html

 

Thanks for coming! J

    Thanks for letting me be here! J

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 07 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for being here Esther. I love this cover and am looking forward to hearing about the next book in the series. Youare definitely on my TBR list. 🙂

Raine

12 08 2008
AlexM

I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

