In the spotlight: Kelley Heckert

17 07 2008

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

Of Water and Dragons is my first book and kind of a sweeter book than my later releases. This one is more like a faery tale and readers who enjoy fantasy and romance will like this one.

It’s set in the 1st century A.D. in Roman Britain and is about a faery woman who falls in love with a Roman/Celt soldier. I based the story around an actual battle fought between the Roman legions and the Celts in Caledonia (Scotland).

 

If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

Shapeshifting.

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

I like to play my bass guitar, read, swim and I am a television addict.

 

Bad boy/girl or perfect gentleman/woman to write about?

I like the bad boys and girls. Personally, I don’t believe that the perfect person exists. We all have a dark side and weaknesses. That’s what makes us human.

 

If you could visit any time and place, where and when would it be and why?

I would want to visit Neolithic Anatolia prior to invasions by northern raiders. I want to see if this time was really as peaceful and prosperous as some archaeologists claim.

 

If you could be a shapeshifter, what form would you take and why?

How funny. This was my magic power answer. I have a special affinity with wolves so I will pick the wolf for their intelligence, strength and beauty. I want to be able to roam free in the wild as a top predator.

Where are you published? Where can readers reach you?

I have three books published with Awe-Struck www.awe-struck.net and one short story with Freya’s Bower www.freyasbower.com. I can be reached through my website at www.kelleyheckart.com.

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I have a passion for Celtic mythology and the supernatural, which are key elements in my stories. I also like to mix fantasy with history.


 

A sneak look  into Of Water and Dragons by Kelley Heckert:

He whirled around at the sudden sound of a snapping twig.  His sword narrowly missed taking off Fiona’s head.  She didn’t seem to notice that she almost lost her head, her eyes were wide with shock and she stumbled about as if drunk on spirits.

 

“Fiona, what happened?”  He held on to her arm to keep her from falling down.

 

She shook her head, her long wet braid swinging from shoulder to shoulder, spraying droplets of water.  “Ah…Ah…they blended into the forest like f-faery f-folk.”

 

He took her by the shoulders, shaking her.  “Where is Valeria?”

 

“Valeria?”  Her eyes were wide, vacant.

 

“Where is my wife?”  He tried to keep the anger out of his voice, but couldn’t help it.

 

“Ambiorix!”  Taran appeared from around what was left of the house.

 

“How could this happen, Taran?  Where are all the soldiers?”

 

 “It happened just before dawn.  I was in the stables.  Most of the soldiers were called away to a neighboring villa.”  He paused, catching his breath.  “I heard screams coming from the house and then… flames.  There was nothing I could do.”

 

Ambiorix felt his heart rise inside his chest, choking him.  “Valeria?”

 

“I…I’m sorry.  She didn’t make it out of the house.”  Taran shifted his gaze, looking down at the ground.

   

The world seemed to spin and the vision of the burnt, blackened house loomed before him like a wide black maw.  Behind him, Fiona started screaming.

“The poor babe!  The poor babe all burned up, too!”

 

He lost all control.  “Speak to me, woman!  What babe?  What are you talking about?”  He shook her hard and slapped her cheek, the loud crack piercing the thick mist and rain.

 

Her eyes cleared and she looked up at him.  “Why, your babe, sir.  Valeria, she was with child.”

 

He turned away, his legs buckling beneath him, and was violently ill.  Shaking, he turned his face upward, letting the rain cleanse his invisible wounds.  They had killed his wife and unborn child, but it was the unborn child that reached out to him from the smoldering ashes.  He imagined the tiny fingers grasping onto his large, callused hand.  Cursing, he pounded the earth with his fist, the vision fading into a black abyss; and with it any hope of peace.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 07 2008
rainedelight

Thanks for coming Kelley. This sounds very intriguing. I look forward to reading more. 🙂

Love the cover. Who did it?

Raine D.

17 07 2008
Kelley

Hi Raine,
Thanks for having me in the spotlight. A talented artist named Ruth Bochte designed this cover.

Kelley

Leave a Reply

