In the Spotlight: Kelley Heckert

26 08 2008

Tell us about your upcoming release and what you hope readers will enjoy about it.

Ravenwolf is the sequel to Of Water and Dragons, which continues the story of Ambiorix and Nemu. Their idyllic life is shattered when spiteful goddesses seek to destroy Nemu, forcing her to confront a past life filled with betrayal, loss and revenge. These goddesses join forces with a renegade Roman legion led by Ambiorix’s old friend, Marcus. To protect his family from harm, Ambiorix has no choice but to join the Roman Army, once again commanding a cavalry unit, and torn between the soldier inside and being a husband and father. As Nemu’s past collides with her present life, she finds herself trapped in the Celtic Underworld by a god who was once obsessed with her. I hope readers will like the mix of fantasy and history plus the enduring romance between these two characters.   

 

If you could have one special super or magical power, what would it be?

Shapeshifting.

 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

I like to play my bass guitar, read, swim and I am a television addict.

 

Bad boy/girl or perfect gentleman/woman to write about?

I like the bad boys and girls. Personally, I don’t believe that the perfect person exists. We all have a dark side and weaknesses. That’s what makes us human.

 

If you could visit any time and place, where and when would it be and why?

I would want to visit Neolithic Anatolia prior to invasions by northern raiders. I want to see if this time was really as peaceful and prosperous as some archaeologists claim.

 

If you could be a shapeshifter, what form would you take and why?

How funny. This was my magic power answer. I have a special affinity with wolves so I will pick the wolf for their intelligence, strength and beauty. I want to be able to roam free in the wild as a top predator.

Where are you published? Where can readers reach you?

I have three books published with Awe-Struck www.awe-struck.net and one short story with Freya’s Bower www.freyasbower.com. I can be reached through my website at www.kelleyheckart.com.

 

What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I have a passion for Celtic mythology and the supernatural, which are key elements in my stories. I also like to mix fantasy with history, adding romance and conflict to my tales of long ago places. My characters range from fierce warriors and bold women to otherworldly creatures. 

*******

 

A sneak look into RAVENWOLF:

Faint sunlight trickled into the dense forest, and an unsettling quiet permeated the air around us. I dared to glance upward and saw eyes gleaming in the darkness–many eyes that were somewhere between human and beast, preternatural. The wolf sensed it too, lifting her snout skyward. I almost cried out, but something made me pause. The eyes held no malice in them, only curiosity. They would let us pass through their domain as long as we showed respect to the land.

 

Sunlight pierced the darkness up ahead. We left the strange forest behind and entered a clearing. A beautiful sight greeted us–a sandy cove nestled beneath rolling green hills and hugged by the sea. Gentle waves lapped at a shoreline covered in sparkling white sand.

 

Donnan rode on ahead and dismounted. He scanned the shoreline, kneeling to pick up something in the sand. I rode over to him and he showed me a piece of leather with a hand-size bronze plate attached to it. I shook my head. I did not know what it was.

 

“This is Roman. It is a piece of their armor.” He scowled, flinging it away as if it belonged in a compost heap.

 

I thought that this must be the place where Ambiorix had seen the Romans. My heart ached as I thought of him standing there, and breathing the same sea air I was breathing.

 

“Why would Roman soldiers be here?” Ceri stood next to me.

 

Donnan looked angry, his shaggy blond hair blowing in the sea wind. “They are probably looking for more lands to take and people to kill.”

 

Dubh pointed to some mountains toward the west. “We only have to reach those mountains and we will be at our destination.”

 

“It is getting late. Perhaps we should camp here tonight. We can get an early start in the morning,” Donnan suggested.

 

“I agree.” I looked to the others and they all nodded in agreement.

 

I wanted to be near Ambiorix and I wanted to stay where he had been. The gentle lapping of the water soothed my troubled mind. While the warriors hunted for food, Ceri and I walked along the shoreline, stretching our legs from the long ride. Bran ran along the shoreline searching for rocks and seashells. The she-wolf followed at my heels, never leaving my side as if she always belonged there.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 08 2008
rainedelight

Hey there Kelley,

Thanks for being in the spotlight and I love this cover. Who did it?

The story sounds intrigung. I really have to grab these. Willt hey go into print in the future?

Raine D.

26 08 2008
Kelley

Hi Raine,
Judith Glad did my cover and it just won a Dream Realm cover award. The books are available in print on amazon and I sell them at a discounted price on eBay.

Thanks for having me!
Kelley

Leave a Reply

